Review: Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

Shatter me new eye co#1A459Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi
Series: Shatter Me #1
Published by: Harper on November 15th, 2011
Genre: Dystopia, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 338
Source: Bought- Hardcover
Buy the Book / Goodreads
My Rating: 5 stars2

Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.

The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.

The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war – and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.

Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.

I’m so late joining this wagon…

This book guys… Seriously! If you have not read this book yet, go read it now! Tahereh Mafi’s writing style is so unique, but amazing! Different as in it’s written as if it were Juliette’s diary, or at least I’m assuming it is. It was so refreshing to read this book! I love how she uses strikeouts to show how Juliette really feels but won’t say out loud.

When we first meet Juliette, she hasn’t seen or touched a person in 264 days! That is a really long time! I can not imagine how crazy I’d go if I were in her position! She’s a very strong and brave character especially all of what she’s gone through in 17 years. She is very independent and doesn’t like having people tell her how she should live her life. *cough* *cough*

The one thing that bothered me was the insta-love or insta-like, however you want to put it. Juliette and Adam’s relationship kind of went off really fast. One minute Juliette is in her cell, the next they are telling each other they love each other. I didn’t have a problem with their relationship, because I loved it. It is just off-putting how fast their relationship took off.

My favorite part of this book: I adored Juliette and Adam’s relationship honestly.. Each time they would get a moment together, I thought it was so cute. I could not put the book down while reading! Each time I had to put the book down I’d get mad because I wouldn’t know what would happen next and that’s all I would think about until I picked it back up. There is without a doubt that I am Team Adam. This man is just handsome, attractive, sweet, and honest. He is definitely one of my many fictional boyfriends!

I’m sure everyone has heard about this book by now and has probably already read it… But Warner… I really just want to punch that guy! He gets on my nerves! I’m so glad that Juliette did what she did to him; he deserved it. He comes off to me as a stalker and obsessive, which I really don’t like. I’ve heard that people have grown to love Warner after Destroy Me (the novella) and Unravel Me. This scares me a little bit honestly. I don’t understand how people like this guy.. But I guess I can’t really say anything until I read those books!

James is just a cutie! He reminds me a lot of my little brother. He’s very curious and wants to know everything and come with me everywhere! This is exactly how James is in the book. He was just adorable.

I was getting very excited towards the end of the book! I’m really excited to see what happens with Juliette and everyone and I’ve heard Unravel Me is a thousand times better.

Favorite Quotes:

There will be a bird. It will be white with streaks of gold like a crown atop its head. It will fly. There will be a bird. (p. 11)

They think I’m a doll they can dress up and twist into prostration.

But they’re wrong. (p. 71)

“You’re my bird,” I tell him. ” You’re my bird and you’re going to help me fly away.” (p. 175)

4 thoughts on “Review: Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

  1. Pingback: Tackle Your TBR Read-a-thon: Final Re-Cap | Brianna's Bookish Confessions

  2. Pingback: September Wrap-Up and October To-Be-Read | Brianna's Bookish Confessions

Leave a Reply

