Review: Uninvited by Amanda Marrone

uninvited Uninvited by Amanda Marrone
Series: N/A
Published by: Simon Pulse on October 23rd, 2007
Genre: Paranormal, Vampires, Young Adult
Pages: 224
Source: Bought- Paperback
Buy the Book / Goodreads
My Rating: 2.5 stars

When rejection comes back to bite you…

Jordan’s life sucks. Her boyfriend, Michael, dumped her, slept his way through half the student body, and then killed himself. But now, somehow, he appears at her window every night, begging her to let him in.

Jordan can’t understand why he wants her, but she feels her resistance wearing down. After all, her life — once a broken record of boring parties, meaningless hookups, and friends she couldn’t relate to — now consists of her drinking alone in her room as she waits for the sun to go down.

Michael needs to be invited in before he can enter. All Jordan has to do is say the words…

I bought this book because it was $0.40 and I knew it was about vampires. When I looked up on Goodreads to check it out it had a really low rating (2.95 stars), which made me kind of nervous to read it. I didn’t hate it, but I didn’t love it…

So let’s start out with what I didn’t like first.

Our main character Jordan is being watched by her ex-boyfriend Michael who is a vampire. He comes to her window every night begging her to let him in. Every night she drinks (liquor) whatever she can find and wakes up every morning with a hangover. She does a lot of drugs and drinks a lot. It didn’t necessarily bother me about the drinking and smoking, it’s how she acted and presented herself. To me, Jordan was very annoying, ignorant, and boring. I didn’t connect with any of the characters at all. I thought Michael was a creep and Jordan was just… well, annoying.

“He’s [Danny] taken.” She smirks. “He was all gropey in the hall with Sara, that’s why they were late.” Taken? Sara? When did that happen? I am going to kill Janine! I reach out and Marnie hands me the book. “Better luck next time,” she says, and moves on. At least Michael wants me. At least Michael didn’t give up on me. I am so twisted. (p. 69)

Her mom and step-dad are always gone so she has no one to take care of her; she’s sixteen and still in high school. This is one of the reasons why Jordan has started drinking and smoking… a lot.

It took forever to find out how Michael was turned into a vampire and to have Jordan explain what he looked like.

What I liked:

This was a very interesting take on vampires! I LOVE reading books about vampires so I’m willing to read whatever I can about vampires. These vampires are a lot more violent and gory, and definitely not the kinds of vampires I’ve read about so far– House of Night, Vampire Academy, Twilight, etc.

The plot was very interesting, it was just the characters that affected my rating. The writing was also amazing. I was very curious about what Jordan would do about Michael and what would happen, would she let him in or not? Was he going to kill her? Turn her into a vampire?

Favorite Quote:

“Be strong, be cool, and never let them see you cry.” (p.73)

One thought on “Review: Uninvited by Amanda Marrone

  1. Pingback: September Wrap-Up and October To-Be-Read | Brianna's Bookish Confessions

Leave a Reply

