Review: Miss Pereguine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

miss pereguine's home for peculiar childrenMiss Pereguine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs
Series: Miss Pereguine #1
Published by: Quirk Books on January 1st, 2011 (original release)
Genre: Fantasy, Paranormal, Young Adult
Pages: 368
Source: Bought- Paperback
Buy the Book / Goodreads

My Rating: 5 stars2

A horrific family tragedy sends Jacob 16 to a remote island off Wales, to the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, where he finds unusual old photographs. The children, one his grandfather, were more than peculiar, perhaps dangerous, quarantined for good reason – and maybe still alive.

I’m going to try my best to keep this as spoiler-free as possible! Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

I’ve had my eye on this book for a couple months now and have had a copy of it for a while now. I waited until October to read this because I had heard it was a “creepy” book. This book only took me 3 days to finish, it was that good. I almost gave it a 4/5 stars, but the ending, wow. This is another favorite book of mine. I was nervous about reading it at first because the beginning was kind of boring, nothing went on for the first 70 pages. If there wouldn’t have been pictures added to this, I may have gotten bored and not felt as creeped out or “scared”. With the pictures added, you could actually see how these characters looked instead of trying to imagine what they’d look like.

As always the characters, the world and the writing was just PHENOMENAL! Ransom Riggs did an amazing job making it seem as if you were in this world experiencing all of what these peculiar children were, that is, if they are alive or not. I really wish I could talk more about the characters in this story, but I’d probably spoil some of you that haven’t read it and I wouldn’t want to do that to you. If you are contemplating reading this, I’d suggest picking it up! It’s the perfect time to read it! It’s October and it fits in with the “creepiness” of Halloween.

Our main character, Jacob is 16 and when he was little he was told stories of these peculiar children by his grandfather. He grandfather is an ex-soldier of World War II and escaped the Nazis. (Yes, this means he was Jewish).

Of all the characters mentioned in this book, I can’t think of a single character who I didn’t like.. Okay, maybe there were a couple, but I can’t really explain any further than that. It’s definitely hard not to spoil anything from this book!

I think what “scared” me the most was the fact that these photos used in this book are real. They weren’t created for the story, they are real just as any other photo is. So the fact that these pictures are real, it definitely freaked me out.

I’m really excited to see what happens next, but book 2– “Hollow City” doesn’t release until January 14th… Which, isn’t too far away, but it’s still 3 months away which stinks.

Favorite Quotes:

“I used to dream about escaping my ordinary life, but my life was never ordinary. I had simply failed to notice how extraordinary it was.”

.

“When someone won’t let you in, eventually you stop knocking.”

.

“We cling to our fairy tales until the price for believing in them becomes too high.”

5 thoughts on “Review: Miss Pereguine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

  1. The photos are REAL?? Yeah… I don’t think I’ll read this. I’m that girl who watched The Grudge and didn’t sleep for a week. Creepy just ain’t my bag. Great review, though!

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Sequels I Can’t Wait To Get My Hands On | Brianna's Bookish Confessions

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2013 | Brianna's Bookish Confessions

  4. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: All Time Favorite Books in the Paranormal Genre | Brianna's Bookish Confessions

Leave a Reply

