Review: Destroy Me by Tahereh Mafi

destroy me

Destroy Me by Tahereh Mafi
Series: Shatter Me #1.5
Published by: Harper on October 2nd, 2012
Genre: Dystopia, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 103
Source: Bought- e-book
Buy the Book / Goodreads

My Rating: 5 stars2

Perfect for the fans of Shatter Me who are desperately awaiting the release of Unravel Me, this novella-length digital original will bridge the gap between these two novels from the perspective of the villain we all love to hate, Warner, the ruthless leader of Sector 45.

In Tahereh Mafi’s Shatter Me, Juliette escaped from The Reestablishment by seducing Warner—and then putting a bullet in his shoulder. But as she’ll learn in Destroy Me, Warner is not that easy to get rid of. . .

Back at the base and recovering from his near-fatal wound, Warner must do everything in his power to keep his soldiers in check and suppress any mention of a rebellion in the sector. Still as obsessed with Juliette as ever, his first priority is to find her, bring her back, and dispose of Adam and Kenji, the two traitors who helped her escape. But when Warner’s father, The Supreme Commander of The Reestablishment, arrives to correct his son’s mistakes, it’s clear that he has much different plans for Juliette. Plans Warner simply cannot allow.

Set after Shatter Me and before its forthcoming sequel, Unravel Me,Destroy Me is a novella told from the perspective of Warner, the ruthless leader of Sector 45.

Juliette has escaped Warner twice now and The Reestablishment. After returning back to base after what Juliette did to him to escape, all Warner can think about is her. After getting some strength back, he goes through Juliette’s room where she was staying and he comes across a notebook. This happens to be Juliette’s and she dropped it while escaping. Juliette’s journal writings were definitely very emotional and intense. The more he reads her journal, the more he realizes his feelings for her and how much they really do have in common.

Upon returning to base, Warner is confronted with one of the things he’s been dreading for quite some time now… His father, whom is the Supreme Commander of The Reestablishment, comes to visit Warner. We soon very quickly find out why Warner is the way he is. Warner’s father has realized who Juliette is and what she can do, but he doesn’t want her to live. He wants her dead. Warner doesn’t feel this way but doesn’t want his father to realize his feelings for her because it will only make it worse.

My Thoughts:

Warner is just one of those bad guys that are just so evil, but yet so interesting. Many people I’ve talked to started off as #TeamAdam but after reading this novella, they might have reconsidered their team.. Well, it’s safe to say I’m one of the very few that is sticking with #TeamAdam.. For some reason, I just couldn’t get over the fact of Shatter Me and what happened. I still find him just as creepy, but probably not as intense as Shatter Me. I still couldn’t get over the fact of how creepy obsessed he is with Juliette. I don’t know what it is, but I just couldn’t let that go.

I did at times start to feel bad for Warner, but only for the fact of how ruthless his father is. I do understand why Warner is the way his is. I did give this a 5/5 because I was so invested in this novella, that when it was over I was kind of mad that is was over. I really enjoyed reading from Warner’s perspective and get a look at his life after what happened in the previous book.

Favorite Quotes:

“I’ve come to believe that the most dangerous man in the world is the one who feels no remorse. The one who never apologizes and therefore seeks no forgiveness. Because in the end it is our emotions that make us week, not our actions.”

.

“Love is a heartless bastard.”

.

“People seldom realize that they tell lies with their lips and truths with their eyes all the time.”

.

“I almost forget that she still hates me, despite how hard I’ve fallen for her.
And I’ve fallen.
So hard.
I’ve hit the ground.”

4 thoughts on “Review: Destroy Me by Tahereh Mafi

  1. I can’t find it in my heart to read this novella and like Warner. I still can’t forgive him for everything he did in Shatter Me and how awful he was. I’m still Team Adam regardless if I understood Warner. But Awesome review Bri! It makes me interested in trying this!

    -Amber

  2. HAHA well, I think I was one of the converts, but I read this book after Unravel Me, and even before this I was already starting to feel a shift in preference XD I think Tahereh is treading on very rough ground right now, because the readers are basically split as to whom they’re rooting for in this triangle! Anyway, I really warmed up to Warner after reading this, and I think this book was one of the most heartfelt reads I’ve come across in a long time. So yeah, glad you like it!

Leave a Reply

