Review: The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

the lightning thiefThe Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan
Series: Percy Jackson & the Olympians #1
Published by: Disney Hyperion Books on March 21st 2006
Genre: Fantasy, Mythology, Adventure, Childrens
Pages: 375
Source: Bought- Paperback

amazon goodreads

My Rating: 5 stars2

Percy Jackson is about to be kicked out of boarding school… again. And that’s the least of his troubles. Lately, mythological monsters and the gods of Mount Olympus seem to be walking straight out of the pages of Percy’s Greek mythology textbook and into his life. And worse, he’s angered a few of them. Zeus’ master lightning bolt has been stolen, and Percy is the prime suspect.

Now Percy and his friends have just ten days to find and return Zeus’ stolen property and bring peace to a warring Mount Olympus. But to succeed on his quest, Percy will have to do more than catch the true thief: he must come to terms with the father who abandoned him; solve the riddle of the Oracle, which warns him of betrayal by a friend; and unravel a treachery more powerful than the gods themselves.

Percy Jackson is about to be kicked out of boarding school, but that isn’t what he should be worrying about. Percy feels as if he’s always being watched. He’s been noticing that he can read Greek text, but can’t read English text. He says he has dyslexia, but he soon figures out why he can read Greek and not English.

Percy and his classmates take a field trip to a museum which is filled with Greek mythology. Each day Percy is tormented by Nancy Bobofit constantly and this does it. His teacher pulls him aside and the next thing he knows she has disappeared but some creature is now there. She starts telling him that his time is up.

Percy is now being rushed to Camp Half-Blood by Grover and Percy’s mother. Percy soon finds out that Zeus’s lightning bolt– which wields the power that Zeus possesses. Zeus is threatening war if his bolt is not returned by the summer solstice. Although, this war will make WW1 & WW2 look like nothing.

my thoughts 2

Okay, I’m like the last human being to read this book… And I’m 19 years old! I should have read this when it came out! Not over 7 years later. I wish I could have been one of those that can say “I grew up with Percy Jackson” or “I grew up with Harry Potter”. Well, I didn’t grow up in either… I can tell what your thinking… I honestly couldn’t tell you what I grew up with… Maybe Junie B. Jones? The Bailey School Kids? Magic Treehouse? Does those count?? :)

Anyways, I was surprised at how much I liked this. Considering it is a children’s book because Percy is (I think) 12 years old so it’s considered children’s. But again, that shouldn’t matter. I honestly didn’t feel like Percy was a “little kid” the way he acted.. He was so mature and brave… A lot more brave than any other.. 20 year old I’ve seen!

I did however watch the movie when it came out and I’ve seen it numerous times. When The Sea of Monsters came out and everyone was talking about it, I kept hearing that the movie sucked and that it was nothing like the books. I heard the same for this book as well. I was shocked when I heard it because I really enjoyed the movie, and I still do.

But, if I had to choose, I’d choose the book. Always. There was so much more to the book than the movie.

Okay, enough about the movie… Getting side-tracked here. Besides the obvious character, whom I’m not going to mention, I enjoyed all the characters in some fashion. This character whom I didn’t like, still is very interesting.

I’m beyond obsessed with Greek mythology. I have been since 7th grade when I was taught about it in school. I found it so interesting about the gods and goddesses. While reading this book I even saw some gods/goddesses I’ve never heard about.

I’m so excited to read Sea of Monsters and the rest as well as the Heroes of Olympus series!

favorite quotes

“If my life is going to mean anything, I have to live it myself.”

.

“Deadlines just aren’t real to me until I’m staring one in the face.”

.

“How did you die?”
“We er….drowned in a bathtub.”
“All three of you?”
“It was a big bathtub.”

.

“Knowing too much of your future is never a good thing.”

2 thoughts on “Review: The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

  1. I’m so glad you loved this one! I adore Percy – he’s probably my all-time favorite fictional character – and just love it when new folks finally get to experience him for the first time. :)

Leave a Reply

