Review: The D.U.F.F by Kody Keplinger

the duffThe D.U.F.F. (Designated Ugly Fat Friend) by Kody Keplinger
Series: N/A
Published by: Little Brown/Poppy on September 7th 2010
Genre: Contemporary, Romance, Chick Lit, Young Adult
Pages: 280
Source: Bought- Hardcover

amazongoodreads

My Rating: 5 stars2

Seventeen-year-old Bianca Piper is cynical and loyal, and she doesn’t think she’s the prettiest of her friends by a long shot. She’s also way too smart to fall for the charms of man-slut and slimy school hottie Wesley Rush. In fact, Bianca hates him. And when he nicknames her “the Duff,” she throws her Coke in his face.

But things aren’t so great at home right now, and Bianca is desperate for a distraction. She ends up kissing Wesley. Worse, she likes it. Eager for escape, Bianca throws herself into a closeted enemies-with-benefits relationship with him.

Until it all goes horribly awry. It turns out Wesley isn’t such a bad listener, and his life is pretty screwed up, too. Suddenly Bianca realizes with absolute horror that she’s falling for the guy she thought she hated more than anyone.

Bianca is a very loyal friend and is also cynical. She knows she isn’t the prettiest compared to her two best friends, Jessica and Casey. She knows not to fall for Wesley, whom is the “man” of the school, MANY girls have slept with him. But, Bianca doesn’t have to worry about liking him because she hates him. Wesley gives her the nickname “the DUFF” because he wants to get either Jessica or Casey to have sex with him.

Things aren’t going very well at home either, wanting some sort of distraction from everything that’s going on, she ends up doing the one thing she never thought she would do. She kissed Wesley, and she actually liked kissing him. She then begins a friends-with-benefits relationship with Wesley, but of course they aren’t friends.

Things are starting to get worse after a couple weeks go by. She hasn’t really talked much to her best friends because Bianca doesn’t like to open up and talk about how she feels. She’d rather keep them inside.

my thoughts 2

I read this book in one day.. ONE DAY! It was a short book, but hey, it was REALLY good. I couldn’t put it down.

Besides Fangirl, this is now one of my favorite contemporaries. I very, very, very much enjoyed this book! I read this for a book club that I joined recently and this was the book of the month. Had I not have joined, I probably wouldn’t have read this any sooner.

I really enjoyed Bianca’s character, I could see some parts of me in her character. As well as Jessica and Casey. At first I hated Wesley just like Bianca, but as the story went on and we got to see more of him, I started to really like him. I kind of had a feeling that what happened with the relationship and how things went about, that it would happen like that. But, it didn’t affect how much  I really enjoyed this book!!

I didn’t like Toby, something seemed off about him and I just didn’t like him.

Fans of contemporary will really enjoy this!

favorite quotes

“Spanish, huh?” he said, glancing down at the scattered papers as he grabbed them. “Can you say anything interesting?”
El tono de tu voz hace que queria estrangularme.” I stood up and waited for him to hand over my papers.
“That sounds sexy,” he said, getting to his feet and handing me the stack of Spanish work he’d swept together. “What’s it mean?”
“The sound of your voice makes me want to strangle myself.”
“Kinky.”

.

“No matter where you go or what you do to distract yourself, reality catches up with you eventually.”

.

“Your sense of humor needs some work, then,” Wesley suggested. “Most girls find my jokes charming.”
“Those girls must have IQs low enough to trip over.”

.

Wesley Rush doesn’t chase girls, but I’m chasing you.

3 thoughts on “Review: The D.U.F.F by Kody Keplinger

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: “Gateway” Books/Authors In My Reading Journey | Brianna's Bookish Confessions

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Most Unique Books | Brianna's Bookish Confessions

Leave a Reply

