Early Review: Being Sloane Jacobs by Lauren Morrill

Untitled-1Being Sloane Jacobs by Lauren Morrill
Series: N/A
Published by: Delacorte on January 7th 2014
Genre: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 352
Source: ARC from Random Buzzers

amazon goodreads

My Rating: 4.5 stars

I received an ARC copy in exchange for an honest review from Random Buzzers. It does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Meet Sloane Emily Jacobs: a seriously stressed-out figure-skater from Washington, D.C., who choked during junior nationals and isn’t sure she’s ready for a comeback. What she does know is that she’d give anything to escape the mass of misery that is her life.

Now meet Sloane Devon Jacobs, a spunky ice hockey player from Philly who’s been suspended from her team for too many aggressive hip checks. Her punishment? Hockey camp, now, when she’s playing the worst she’s ever played. If she messes up? Her life will be over.

When the two Sloanes meet by chance in Montreal and decide to trade places for the summer, each girl thinks she’s the lucky one: no strangers to judge or laugh at Sloane Emily, no scouts expecting Sloane Devon to be a hero. But it didn’t occur to Sloane E. that while avoiding sequins and axels she might meet a hockey hottie—and Sloane D. never expected to run into a familiar (and very good-looking) face from home. It’s not long before the Sloanes discover that convincing people you’re someone else might be more difficult than being yourself.

There are 2 Sloane Jacobs, they both place on ice. Sloane Emily is a figure skater and is very girly. Sloane Devon is a hockey player and is a tomboy. They both have family issues and both have hit rock bottom in their sports. Both their parents send them to Canada at training camps before the new school year starts.

To their surprise, they look just alike and have the same scars and everything. Creepy right? Well, they both hate their situations and would trade their lives. They bet they each couldn’t last one day in each other shoes. They both believe that the opposite’s life is a walk in the park. They very soon realize that it’s the exact opposite. They are both to attend each others training camp for 4 weeks and then return home. Just when things are going great and everything is happy, something happens and they are forced to think if it’s still worth it.

my thoughts 2

Holy cow. Guys… This book…

I devoured this book and I COULD NOT put it down. No, it’s not fast paced, but it’s that kind of book that you are just eager to find out what happens next to Sloane Emily and Sloane Devon. At times I would find myself on the edge of my seat and smiling. I’m really glad I received an ARC copy from Random Buzzers and was given the chance to review it.

At the beginning, I thought Sloane Emily was going to be annoying and a snobby little brat. And I thought Sloane Devon was just going to be plain out rude. No, I completely loved both of these 2 to pieces! Sloane Emily releases her inner tomboy and Sloane Devon releases her inner girl. Which, was hilarious to read!

I thought I would get confused with the POV switches and getting the 2 Sloanes mixed up.. Nope. It was so easy to decide who was who.

Ohh gosh… Our men… :) Nando and Matt.. Holy cow. Those boys. Too cute!!!!

Guys, I CAN NOT stress this enough, if your a fan of Fangirl, I really think you might enjoy this. No, it’s nothing like Fangirl, but it does have characters whom you’ll easily fall in love with.. *cough* Nando and Matt *cough*. Did we not fall for Levi in Fangirl!? I sure as heck did!! HARD! I LOVE Levi to pieces and Nando and Matt are both up there with him! Sloane Emily and Sloane Devon are also relatable! Maybe not as relatable as Cath was, but they are both pretty close!

favorite quotes

“It was a legit hit. I watched it. You were too busy reciting Hamlet’s soliloquy or some crap while you were lining that shot up. What were you expecting, an engraved invitation to the goal?” — page 23

.

“I’m going to change your mind about me,” he says, watching me steadily. “I like you, Sloane.”

I’m tempted to ask “Why?” again, but I refrain.

“I did some crappy things in the past,” he admits. “But like I said, people change. I changed.” — page 209

.

“Holy crap,” I say, letting out a long breath.

“‘Holy’ is right, at least,” Matt says. “It’s the Notre Dame Basilica. Pretty cool, huh?”

“It’s perfect,” I say, my head tilted straight back so I can look up at the lighted spires.

Matt finds my hand and squeezes. “You’re perfect,” he says quietly. — page 215

Challenges This Book Belongs To:

NAC.2014.250px

One thought on “Early Review: Being Sloane Jacobs by Lauren Morrill

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-up: January 2014 | Brianna's Bookish Confessions

Leave a Reply

