Review: Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson

tiger lilyTiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson
Series: N/A
Published by: HarperTeen on July 3rd 2012
Genre: Fantasy, Romance, Fairy Tales, Young Adult
Pages: 292
Source: Bought- Hardcover

amazongoodreads

My Rating: 5 stars2

Jodi Lynn Anderson explores the world of Neverland and the elation and heartbreak of first love in her dark, romantic, and very original YA novel Tiger Lily.

Tinkerbell narrates the magical, bittersweet love story between Tiger Lily and Peter Pan. Tiger Lily has never been truly accepted by her tribe, and now the elders have decreed marriage to a man she doesn’t love. She spends more and more time alone in the woods, where she meets wild, fearless Peter Pan, leader of the Lost Boys.

Tiger Lily is intoxicated by the freedom she feels with Peter, and falls under his spell. Their love is all-consuming, and she risks everything to be with him.

Then Wendy Darling arrives in Neverland.

Tiger Lily is a Sky Eater, they never grow older. She lives with her father and her tribe on an island called Neverland. They are told to fear the lost boys because they kill and eat people. Tiger Lily hasn’t been accepted by her tribe, she has always been an outcast since she was a little girl. One day, she goes farther into the forest than she ever has before. She comes face to face with a lost boy. This lost boy is a character whom a lot of kids have grown up to and looked up to. Peter Pan.

Tiger Lily and Peter Pan start to have feelings for each other, but Tiger Lily knows she’s already committed to someone in her tribe whether she likes him or not.

Tiger Lily will risk everything to be with him, and him likewise.. Then Wendy Darling arrives to the island…

my thoughts 2

Fangirl moment:

Oh my gosh.. Guys.. The ending.. I tried SOOO hard not to try! Just writing this review brings back the feels..

Okay, anyways. I’m such a sucker for Disney movies.. I’m so not joking. I’m a nerd for Disney movies! I’m ADDICTED to Disney, always have been always will be. I was soo upset when I tried to find Peter Pan on Netflix and On Demand and was let down (I don’t have it on DVD yet, but VHS). So, my only other option was to order it on Amazon! So now, I get to wait 2 days to watch it again.

I thought Tiger Lily was Tinkerbell. No, Tiger Lily and Tinkerbell are completely different characters. Tinkerbell narrates the story. So for the first couple pages I was confused. You would think having Tinkerbell narrating the story, it would be the worst thing in the book. No, we got to see more characters and more about the story than probably what Tiger Lily would have encountered. Every character that was introduced in this story was so well written and so vivid. I could very clearly imagine each character that was described.

Guys, I’m such a sucker for first loves. I was so beyond upset with the ending. It ends the way its supposed to end in Peter Pan. :( That really isn’t a spoiler, honestly. The first lines in the book go like this:

“Let me tell you something straight off. This is a love story, but not like any you’ve heard. The boy and the girl are far from innocent. Dear lives are lost. And good doesn’t win. In some places, there is something ultimately good about endings. In Neverland, that is not the case.” –page 3

I tried to not let my feelings affect the rating, I wanted it to end like it was supposed to, not the original fairy tale ending. I went back several times changing my rating. Feelings aside, I absolutely LOVED this book to pieces! It was so dark and scarier than the happy, fun-filled movie version of Peter Pan. Jodi Lynn Anderson is such a fantastic character and her writing style is absolute amazing!

favorite quotes

“Sometimes I think that maybe we are just stories. Like we may as well just be words on a page, because we’re only what we’ve done and what we are going to do.”

.

“She did not believe he could have really gone, because for her, to leave the person you loved was impossible.”

.

“You have to be careful who you meet. You can’t unmeet them.”

.

“It turned out that my curiosity did not outweigh my courage after all. Sometimes love means not being able to bear seeing the one you love the way they are, when they’re not what you hoped for.”

Challenge This Belongs To:

NAC.2014.250px

3 thoughts on “Review: Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-up: January 2014 | Brianna's Bookish Confessions

Leave a Reply

