Review: Frigid by Jennifer L. Armentrout (L. Lynn)

frigidFrigid by Jennifer L. Armentrout (J. Lynn)
Series: Frigid #1
Published by: Spencer Hill Contemporary on November 5th 2013 (original July 15th 2013)
Genre: Romance, Contemporary, Contemporary Romance, New Adult
Pages: 260
Source: Bought- Paperback

amazongoodreads

My Rating: 5 stars2

For twenty-one-year-old Sydney, being in love with Kyler isn’t anything new. They’d been best friends ever since he pushed her down on the playground and she made him eat a mud pie. Somewhere over the years, she fell for him and fell hard. The big problem with that? Kyler puts the ‘man’ in man-whore. He’s never stayed with a girl longer than a few nights, and with it being their last year in college, Syd doesn’t want to risk their friendship by declaring her love.

Kyler has always put Syd on a pedestal that was too high for him to reach. To him, she’s perfect and she’s everything. But the feelings he has for her, he’s always hidden away or focused on any other female. After all, Kyler will always be the poor boy from the wrong side of tracks, and Syd will always be the one girl he can never have.

But when they’re stranded together at a posh ski resort due to a massive Nor’easter, there’s nothing stopping their red-hot feelings for each other from coming to the surface. Can their friendship survive the attraction? Better yet, can they survive at all? Because as the snow falls, someone is stalking them, and this ski trip may be a life-changer in more ways than one.

Sydney and Kyler have been best friends since he pushed her down at the playground and she made him eat a mud pie. They are now starting winter break and are graduating college in the spring. It’s no secret that Sydney has had feelings for Kyler. The downfall to this is that Kyler is a man-whore. Kyler has never been in a real relationship and has never stayed with a girl more than a couple nights.

Sydney, Kyler, and some friends are going to spend the winter break at a ski resort. But, as soon as they get there and find out their friends won’t make it, a massive blizzard hits.

“How much snow are they calling for?” “Somewhere between a lot and holy fuck.”– page 71

Sydney and Kyler are now stranded at this ski resort and Sydney doesn’t want risk her friendship with Kyler by confessing how she really feels about him. But, can she keep this a secret? Will she tell him?

my thoughts 2

Okay, Jennifer L. Armentrout is the queen of writing a swoon-worthy romance.. Just saying. I previously read Obsidian which is the first book in the Lux series back in October and fell in love with it! I have yet to pick up the other 3 that have been released so far, but after reading this book I’m definitely picking up Onyx next!

I had a feeling I would really like this book and I did! The minute Kyler was introduced I fell head over heals for him. Kyler is without a doubt, a top fictional boyfriend. I COULD NOT put the book down. I devoured the book in one sitting. At times the plot was very predictable, but the overall story was just absolutely fantastic. Jennifer L. Armentrout is definitely one of my all time favorite authors and is becoming an auto-buy author. I’ve only read 2 of her books so far and both I am obsessing over.

Is it just me or does Jennifer L. Armentrout like to make the main female characters book lovers?! Both Obsidian and Frigid have characters whom are book lovers. It’s so awesome!

This is set in both Sydney and Kyler’s point of views. You’d think that with duel perspectives and with a male point of view that it wouldn’t be all that great. But, it was the exact opposite. I usually don’t like multiple perspectives but Jennifer L. Armentrout nailed this 110%!

Chapter 7 was probably the most funniest thing about this book. I don’t want to give away what happened, you’ll just have to read it and figure it out. I was laughing the entire time throughout this chapter.

favorite quotes

“We walk – or shuffled along – about a yard and then I walked straight into a mailbox. I grunted. “Son of a bitch jumped right out in front of me!”
Kyler stopped, shaking his head. “You are a hazard to yourself right now.”
“I’m fine.” I waved him off, edging around the tricky inanimate object as I shot it a dark look. “I’m watching you.”– page 61

.

“How you’ve always felt?” “I’ve loved you my entire life,” he said, eyes locked on mine. “And I would love you for the rest of my life if you’d let me, Syd.”–page 242

.

“Nice boxer shorts. Did your mom get them for you?”

“No. Your mom did.”–page 21

4 thoughts on “Review: Frigid by Jennifer L. Armentrout (L. Lynn)

  1. Pingback: Review: Onyx by Jennifer L. Armentrout | Brianna's Bookish Confessions

  2. Pingback: Bout of Books 9.0 Wrap-Up | Brianna's Bookish Confessions

  3. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-up: January 2014 | Brianna's Bookish Confessions

  4. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: “Gateway” Books/Authors In My Reading Journey | Brianna's Bookish Confessions

Leave a Reply

