Review: Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

shadow and boneShadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo
Series: The Grisha #1
Published by: Henry Holt and Co. on June 5th 2012 (original May 17th 2012)
Genre: Fantasy, Romance, Magic, New Adult
Pages: 358
Source: Bought- Hardcover

amazongoodreads

My Rating: 5 stars2

The Shadow Fold, a swathe of impenetrable darkness, crawling with monsters that feast on human flesh, is slowly destroying the once-great nation of Ravka.

Alina, a pale, lonely orphan, discovers a unique power that thrusts her into the lavish world of the kingdom’s magical elite—the Grisha. Could she be the key to unravelling the dark fabric of the Shadow Fold and setting Ravka free?

The Darkling, a creature of seductive charm and terrifying power, leader of the Grisha. If Alina is to fulfill her destiny, she must discover how to unlock her gift and face up to her dangerous attraction to him.

But what of Mal, Alina’s childhood best friend? As Alina contemplates her dazzling new future, why can’t she ever quite forget him?

Glorious. Epic. Irresistible. Romance.

Alina has never been good at anything, she has been an orphan for quite some time. One day Alina and her regiment are sent to the Fold and within minutes they are attacked. Her best friend is brutally injured and in which she reveals a power that she has kept inside of her that she had no idea existed. She is then immediately sent to the royal court to become part of the royal and magical elite, The Grisha who are leaded by The Darkling.

Becoming part of The Grisha was something she never wanted to be a part of. What was to come next was nothing that she was prepared for.

my thoughts 2

Okay, that was probably the hardest synopsis I’ve ever written. There is just so much information to this story, that it’s difficult to write a good synopsis over it without spoilers!

I didn’t expect to like this book as much as I did! I had a VERY hard time with pronunciations the whole time reading. Half the time it just looked like “slkjflk” (random letters) in my mind.

This book is VERY fast paced and after the prologue your immediately thrown into the world. There is not one part in this story where you know what’s going to happen next. Nothing is predictable. Your constantly on the edge of your seat waiting to know what’s going to happen.. Maybe even yelling at Alina and then realizing your yelling at a book and she can’t hear a word your saying. :)

Their wasn’t too much romance in this book which was really nice. I was stuck on who I liked. You’ll understand more if you’ve read this or when you do read this.

I really enjoyed the fact that this is set in Russia. It’s hard to find books that aren’t set in America, I’ve read a lot of books and a lot are set in America (or what we believe is America). So it was refreshing to get a different perspective other than someone from America.

Alina was such an awesome bad butt character!! I haven’t read a book in a while that has had a character that was this brave and strong as she was. Or that was even just this AWESOME!

SO beyond excited to pick up Siege and Storm (I unfortunately do not have a copy of it yet and since I’m on a book ban for January it’s going to have to wait.)

favorite quotes

“I don’t care if you danced naked on the roof of the Little Palace with him. I love you, Alina, even the part of you that loved him.”– page 331

.

“I missed you every hour. And you know what the worst part was? It caught me completely by surprise. I’d catch myself just walking around to find you, not for any reason, just out of habit, because I’d seen something that I wanted to tell you about or because I wanted to hear your voice. And then I’d realize that you weren’t there anymore, and every time, every single time, it was like having the wind knocked out of me. I’ve risked my life for you. I’ve walked half the length of Ravka for you, and I’d do it again and again and again just to be with you, just to starve with you and freeze with you and hear you complain about hard cheese every day. So don’t tell me why we don’t belong together,” he said fiercely.”– page 298

.

“I told myself. How would I have said goodbye to Mal anyway? Thanks for being my best friend and making my life bearable. Oh, and sorry I fell in love with you for a while there. Make sure to write!
“What are you smiling at?”
I whirled, peering into the gloom. The Darkling’s voice seemed to float out of the shadows. He walked down to the stream, crouching on the bank to splash water on his face and through his dark hair.
“Well?” he asked, looking up at me.
“Myself,” I admitted.
“Are you that funny?”
“I’m hilarious.”–page 76

Challenges This Belongs To:

NAC.2014.250px

7 thoughts on “Review: Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

  1. Love this series!! I thought Shadow and Bone was pretty good, but then LOVED Siege and Storm. I’m soooo excited for Ruin and Rising! I really like that it’s set in Russia, too (or at least fantasy-world Russia). I don’t always like books set in other countries, but I liked how it was done. But, you’re right, the names and stuff were so weird and hard to pronounce. I just stopped saying them (in my mind) while I was reading. Like, oh yeah, that s-word again or whatever haha. Are you planning to read Siege and Storm soon? Can’t wait to hear what you think of it!

    • I really want to read it! I definitely will! But, I’m trying to crack down the amount of unread books on my shelves. I have more unread books than read books on my shelves (thanks to my book buying obsession in which from August-November I bought AT LEAST 30 books a month). I’ll try to buy it around the time Ruin and Rising is coming out. Maybe I’ll buy it before then. I’m not sure yet. :)

  2. Pingback: Bout of Books 9.0 Wrap-Up | Brianna's Bookish Confessions

  3. I completely agree, it is so fast paced and I love how unexpected everything is in the book and the romance seems so natural, like it wasn’t just thrown in to grab readers’ attention. Can’t wait to hear what you think of Siege and Storm, it is even more amazing and the characters are hilarious. There’ll be yet even more confusion concerning who you like best but I won’t say too much!
    And thank you for these wonderful quotes, all three give me feels. Great review!

  4. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-up: January 2014 | Brianna's Bookish Confessions

  5. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: “Gateway” Books/Authors In My Reading Journey | Brianna's Bookish Confessions

Leave a Reply

