Review: Onyx by Jennifer L. Armentrout

onyxOnyx by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Series: Lux #2
Published by: Entangled Teen on August 14th 2012
Genre: Paranormal, Science Fiction, Aliens, Young Adult
Pages: 366
Source: Bought- Paperback

amazongoodreads

My Rating: 5 stars2

Being connected to Daemon Black sucks…

Thanks to his alien mojo, Daemon’s determined to prove what he feels for me is more than a product of our bizarro connection. So I’ve sworn him off, even though he’s running more hot than cold these days. But we’ve got bigger problems.

Something worse than the Arum has come to town…

The Department of Defense are here. If they ever find out what Daemon can do and that we’re linked, I’m a goner. So is he. And there’s this new boy in school who’s got a secret of his own. He knows what’s happened to me and he can help, but to do so, I have to lie to Daemon and stay away from him. Like that’s possible. Against all common sense, I’m falling for Daemon. Hard.

But then everything changes…

I’ve seen someone who shouldn’t be alive. And I have to tell Daemon, even though I know he’s never going to stop searching until he gets the truth. What happened to his brother? Who betrayed him? And what does the DOD want from them—from me?

No one is who they seem. And not everyone will survive the lies…

Katy and Daemon are now connected and Daemon is revealing his feelings toward Katy. Katy is having a hard time figuring out if she feels the same way, she thinks the reasoning as to why Daemon likes her is because of the bond. Katy is starting to realize she’s developing powers like Daemon has. She knows for a fact that she’s not a Luxen. She meets a boy who has just moved to town and that isn’t an alien. She soon starts to realize that she may be wrong about that.

The Department of Defense has been eyeing the Blacks’ and Katy closely. They are trying not to get caught by the DOD.

Daemon tries to win over Katy before she falls for Blake. He wants to make up for everything that he has done in the past to her.

my thoughts 2

Okay, this isn’t a good week for me for writing a synopsis… That was TERRIBLE! This one is also kind of hard to explain without explaining everything that happened.

Guys, you have NO idea how much I LOVE Jennifer L. Armentrout’s writing! This is now my 3rd book that I’ve read from her– Obsidian, Frigid and now Onyx. There’s no question that I will continue on with this series and also read her Covenant series and other contemporaries. I absolutely love how she creates swoon-worthy male characters!!! LOVEE!

The ending…. Holy cow.. I was almost in tears. I still don’t quite know what’s going on!?

SOOO much more action!! Katy definitely developed more as a character in this. She was more brave and stuck up for herself a lot more. I can’t get over how sarcastic Katy is– Daemon as well– she’s so funny and at times I find myself literally laughing at loud. Daemon just got even more sexy and just pure sexy.. Daemon is probably one if not my top fictional boyfriend! I’m not joking… As much as he gets on my nerves (and Katy’s) you can’t help but love him to pieces!!!I hate Blake, didn’t like him when he was introduced.. I also don’t like Will. They both got on my nerves and they were both very sketchy!

I NEED Opal like now.. But I’m currently reading Clockwork Angel for a challenge I have to do in January and I want to get it done. :)

If your debating about continuing on with the series.. What are you doing!? That’s a no brainer. Continue with the series!!! YOU NEED DAEMON IN YOUR LIFE. :)

favorite quotes

“I could always give you a teaser. You bookish people love teasers, don’t you?”– page 297

.

“Huh. Private bunch, aren’t they?”

“Maybe they’re getting some bow-chicka-pow-wow.”

I looked at him. “Ew.”

He flashed his teeth. “She’s definitely not my type.” His gaze dropped to my lips, and parts of me quivered in response to the heat in his gaze. “But now I totally have that on my mind.”

I was breathless. “You’re a dog.”

“If you pet me, I’ll–”

“don’t even finish that sentence,” I said, fighting a grin. –page 226

.

“Say it.”
“Say what?”
“Tell me what you told me earlier.”
“I love you.”
“That’s all I ever need to hear.”
“Those three words?”
“Always those three words.”– page 337

.

“Cookie?” he offered, holding a cookie full of chocolate chips.
Upset tummy or not, there was no way I could refuse that. “Sure.”
His lips tipped up one side and he leaned toward me, his mouth inches from mine. “Come and get it.”
Come and get…? Daemon placed half the cookie between those full, totally kissable lips.
Oh, holy alien babies everywhere…”–pages 5-6

5 thoughts on “Review: Onyx by Jennifer L. Armentrout

    • Haha I’m not gonna be able to read Opal for a while because I’m reading Clockwork Angel and I’m assuming I’ll get hooked and read the other 2 (and combined that’s ALOT of pages!!!). I’m reading Daughter of Smoke and Bone with a friend from booktube and I have 2 books I have to review.

  1. Pingback: Bout of Books 9.0 Wrap-Up | Brianna's Bookish Confessions

  2. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-up: January 2014 | Brianna's Bookish Confessions

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: “Gateway” Books/Authors In My Reading Journey | Brianna's Bookish Confessions

Leave a Reply

