Review: The Evolution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

evolution of mara dyerThe Evolution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin
Series: Mara Dyer #2
Published by: Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing on October 23rd 2012
Genre: Paranormal, Romance, Fantasy, Young Adult
Pages: 544
Source: Bought- Hardcover

amazongoodreads

My Rating: 5 stars2

Mara Dyer once believed she could run from her past.
She can’t.

She used to think her problems were all in her head.
They aren’t.

She couldn’t imagine that after everything she’s been through, the boy she loves would still be keeping secrets.
She’s wrong.

In this gripping sequel to The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, the truth evolves and choices prove deadly. What will become of Mara Dyer next?

Mara is starting to understand who she is, but her family still thinks she’s crazy. She’s going crazy because she knows she’s right but the only person that believes her is Noah. Noah knows what she is as well as himself. Mara can only talk to Noah about all these things going on.

my thoughts 2

Okay.. wait… I need a minute…

First off, bad synopsis. But, hard to summarize without spoiling what happens in Unbecoming when people may not have read it. That’s the best I could do without spoiling.

Okay.. Still need a minute… I need a minute to collect my feelings that have shattered into millions of pieces…

THAT ENDING!!!!! WHAT?!?!

This book was just… Perfect! I can’t even describe how much I LOVE this series! Michelle Hodkin’s writing style is just so fantastic and it just sucks you in the minute you read one word. It’s IMPOSSIBLE to put the book down while reading. Your always at the edge of your seat wanting more and wanting to figure out WHAT THE HECK is going on and why Mara is like this!

Although Unbecoming was a little vague at explaining really what Noah and Mara were and what they were capable of really doing, Evolution clears most of that up.

The characters were just so fantastic. So well developed! We get to see Jamie again!!! I’ve missed him!!

If you still have yet to pick up Evolution, please pick it up. If you haven’t even picked up Unbecoming, please please PLEASE do! This series is just FANTASTIC!

favorite quotes

“In music, consonant chords are points of arrival. Rest. There’s no tension,” he tried to explain. “Most pop music hooks are consonant, which is why most people like them. They’re catchy but interchangeable. Boring. Dissonant intervals, however, are full of tension,” he said, holding my faze. “You can’t predict which way they’re going to go. It makes limited people uncomfortable–frustrated, because they don’t understand the point, and people hate what they don’t understand. But the ones who get it,” he said, lifting a hand to my face, “find it fascinating. Beautiful.” He traced the shape of my mouth with his thumb. “Like you.” –page 276

.

“Now you’re just being cruel.”

“I like pushing your buttons.”

“You’d enjoy it more if you undid them first.”–page 284

.

“If it isn’t Noah Shaw,” he said in a low voice, mimicking Noah’s accent. “Seducer of virgins, fresh from making beautiful music with his beautiful conquest in the music studio. METAPHOR,” he stage-whispered.

“Jamie–” I hissed. He was going to get us caught.

“Which is fine,” he said, holding up his hands defensively. “Free country. But unless you’re about to engage in some executive-secretary role-play–”

Jamie.

“Or, oh my God, Psychologist-patient role-play? Please tell me that is not what your were about to do, or I will throw up in both your faces. Simultaneously.”

“You’re disturbed,” I said sharply.

“That’s what they tell me,” Jamie said with a wink. “So no role-play?”

“None,” Noah said. –page 468-69

.

“Ladies and gentlemen, Jamal Feldstein-Roth.”
I blinked. “Wait, Jamal?”
“Suck it,” he said with a grin. “My parents are liberal Jews from Long Island, okay? They wanted me to have a connection to my heritage.” Jamie made air quotes with his fingers.
“I’m not judging – my middle name is Amitra. I’m just surprised.”
“Amitra,” Noah amused. “Mystery solved.”
“What is that?” Jamie asked me.”
“Sanskrit? Hindi?” I shrugged.
“Randomly?”
I shook my head. “My mom’s Indian.”
“What does that mean?” Jamie asked me.
“What does Jamal mean?” I asked him.
“Point taken.”– page 477

2 thoughts on “Review: The Evolution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

Leave a Reply

