Review: Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi

ignite meIgnite Me by Tahereh Mafi
Series: Shatter Me #3
Published by: HarperCollins on February 4th 2014
Genre: Dystopia, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 416
Source: Bought- Hardcover

amazongoodreads

My Rating: 5 stars2

Juliette now knows she may be the only one who can stop the Reestablishment. But to take them down, she’ll need the help of the one person she never thought she could trust: Warner. And as they work together, Juliette will discover that everything she thought she knew – about Warner, her abilities, and even Adam – was wrong.

my thoughts 2

Sorry I didn’t do a synopsis, but it’s hard to do one for a series that’s so popular and the final book in the trilogy. I didn’t want to spoil anyone by trying to write one. But, if you have yet to read this or start the series, I highly suggest doing so. I’ll try my very best to keep this as spoiler-free as possible.

Guys, this trilogy is over. I still can’t believe it. It’s really over! :(

I absolutely loved this book to pieces and if you follow me on Instagram, you may have already seen my post where I show how much flags I put into the book. I have at least 30 flags in it. That should say a lot.. I usually only have at most 5 flags.

I completely switched teams during this! I finished Fracture Me still on both Team Warner and Team Adam.. By half way through Ignite Me, I switched to Team Warner for many reasons.

Juliette has developed so much throughout this trilogy. She has gotten so strong! She went from being scared of being around people and not speaking, to saying whatever she has in mind and completely standing up for herself. I ADORED Kenji. He’s my best friend now. I love him so much. He was such a fantastic best friend to Juliette. He listened to her and was always there for her. Warner, oh gosh. Warner was so adorable and such a complete sweetheart. He was so caring and so compassionate about Juliette, I just can’t help but fall for him. Adam got on my last nerve, he complained and was such a brat throughout Ignite Me. I can’t stand him now. I thought I was never going to hate Adam and never love Warner. Usually I can stick to a team, I’ve never changed teams like this before. No author has actually made me switch. I don’t know what it is about Warner, he is just so adorable and hard not to love.

Tahereh Mafi’s writing just gets better and better with each book she writes. I’m really excited to see what she writes next-if she does. I really hope so. She’s such a fantastic author, her writing is so compelling. You can’t not love her writing. It’s so beautiful and magical. (bad choice of words- it’s hard to explain.)

The ending was so fantastic and I couldn’t have asked for a better ending! I really wish there was more though. I’m still in denial that this trilogy is over. I want more to the story, I want to see what happens now. I’m hoping Tahereh Mafi makes a continuation or a spin-off or something.

favorite quotes

“Why do you call her ‘love’?” James asks. “I’ve heard you say that before, too. A lot. Are you in love with her? I think Adam’s in love with her. Kenji’s not in love with her, though. I already asked him.”
Warner blinks at him.
“Well?” James asks.
“Well what?”
“Are you in love with her?”
“Are you in love with her?”
“What?” James blushes. “No. She’s like a million years older than me.”
“Would anyone else like to take over this conversation?” Warner asks, looking around the group.”– page 267

.

“Hey, um, I’m sorry to bother you, but I’m looking for a friend of mine,” he says. “Have you seen her? She’s a tiny little thing, cries a lot, spends too much time with her feelings-”
“Shut up, Kenji!”
“Oh wait!” he says. “It is you.”– page 83

.

I am no longer afraid of fear, and I will not let it rule me.

Fear will learn to fear me. –page 103

.

He cocks his head at me. “That’s like, biological and shit. Scientific. Maybe your lady bits are scientifically confused.”

My lady bits?

“Oh, I’m sorry”– Kenji pretends to look offended– “would you rather I use the proper anatomical terminology? Because your lady bits do not scare me–”

“Yeah, no thanks.” I manage to laugh a little, my sad attempt dissolving into a sigh. — page 156-57

Challenges This Belongs To:

DCR Banner SeriouslySeries2014-02 Series-Challenge-Button-take2

2 thoughts on “Review: Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi

Leave a Reply

