Review: Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles

perfect chemistryPerfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles
Series: Perfect Chemistry #1
Published by: Walker Books for Young Readers on December 23rd 2008
Genre: Contemporary, Romance, Realistic Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 357
Source: Bought- Paperback

amazongoodreads

My Rating: 4.5 stars

A fresh, urban twist on the classic tale of star-crossed lovers.

When Brittany Ellis walks into chemistry class on the first day of senior year, she has no clue that her carefully created ‘perfect’ life is about to unravel before her eyes. She’s forced to be lab partners with Alex Fuentes, a gang member from the other side of town, and he is about to threaten everything she’s worked so hard for: her flawless reputation, her relationship with her boyfriend, and the secret that her home life is anything but perfect.

Alex is a bad boy and he knows it. So when he makes a bet with his friends to lure Brittany into his life, he thinks nothing of it. But soon Alex realizes Brittany is a real person with real problems, and suddenly the bet he made in arrogance turns into something much more.

In a passionate story about looking beneath the surface, Simone Elkeles breaks through the stereotypes and barriers that threaten to keep Brittany and Alex apart.

Brittany Ellis lives on the north side of town–also known as the rich side. Alex Fuentes lives on the south side–where all the gangs live. Brittany and Alex couldn’t be anymore different.. Or could they?

Brittany is the “golden girl”; always at the top of everything. Her parents push her to be the best while her sister isn’t exactly. Alex who is a gang member joined to keep him family safe, but maybe it’s not.

One day, both Brittany and Alex never thought they’d have to work on a chemistry project together which involves outside of class time. Can they work together despite their differences?

my thoughts 2

I loved the book so much! I didn’t expect to love it this much. I got nervous in the beginning because I didn’t really like how it was going. But as the story progressed, I fell for it. I read this book within a day’s time and had a hard time putting it down once I got into the book. Be warned, it’s addictive.

Brittany was getting on my nerves in the beginning and Alex was making me a little nervous.

I can not stress how amazing these two’s character development played out. It was absolutely amazing! Both characters developed and matured so much throughout this book. Within the time they were together, they were completely different people from what they were in the beginning.

The one thing I disliked though is the Spanish in it. I don’t speak Spanish nor do I know much Spanish, so I had a hard time with it. Some words I think I knew, but I still couldn’t understand and it bothered me. That’s the only problem I had.

I loved how it alternated point of view’s. It gave more perspective for the two characters and more development instead of having one person’s perceptive.

favorite quotes

“You are the one girl that made me risk everything for a future worth having.”- Simone Elkeles, Perfect Chemistry

.

“We’re actors in our lives, pretendin’ to be who we want people to think we are.”- Simone Elkeles, Perfect Chemistry

.

“I want to try making things right because picking up the pieces is way better than leaving them the way they are.”- Simone Elkeles, Perfect Chemistry

.

“I want to know how to make this girl laugh. I want to know what makes her cry. I want to know what it feels like to have her look at me as if I’m her knight in shinning armor.”- Simone Elkeles, Perfect Chemistry

Challenges This Belongs To:

NAC.2014.250px

Leave a Reply

