Review: Control by Lydia Kang

controlControl by Lydia Kang
Series: Control #1
Published by: Dial Books for Young Readers on December 26th 2013
Genre: Dystopia, Science Fiction, Fantasy, Young Adult
Pages: 400
Source: Bought- Hardcover

amazongoodreads

My Rating: 4 stars2

An un-putdownable thriller for fans of Uglies

When a crash kills their father and leaves them orphaned, Zel knows she needs to protect her sister, Dyl. But before Zel has a plan, Dyl is taken by strangers using bizarre sensory weapons, and Zel finds herself in a safe house for teens who aren’t like any she’s ever seen before—teens who shouldn’t even exist. Using broken-down technology, her new friends’ peculiar gifts, and her own grit, Zel must find a way to get her sister back from the kidnappers who think a powerful secret is encoded in Dyl’s DNA.

A spiraling, intense, romantic story set in 2150—in a world of automatic cars, nightclubs with auditory ecstasy drugs, and guys with four arms—this is about the human genetic “mistakes” that society wants to forget, and the way that outcasts can turn out to be heroes.

Zelia and her younger sister, Delia are constantly moving around the country. Every ten months Zelia, Delia, and their father pack up their things and go to the next state. Well, it’s 2150 and states are now broken into segments based on political views– all people with same views live in the same state.

Zel and Dyl couldn’t be more different; Zel is obsessed with science and Dyl is obsessed with boys. Zel has a genetic disorder called Ondine’s Disease in which she basically has to remind herself to breathe.

While they are on their way to the next state, a magpod (a car, but futuristic) crashes into them. Which, ultimately ends up killing their father. Now father-less, the girls are now orphans are immediately sent to a foster home. No later than 12 hours later, Dyl has been adopted, but these people don’t seem normal. They forcibly take Dyl away and Zel is now in the hands of Marka.

Can Zelia save Delia? Will she get to him in time?

my thoughts 2

I REALLY enjoyed this book! I loved how different it was (I realize I say this a lot, I need to stop). But I loved the science aspect of it. Maybe it’s just me. I’m going into the medical field so maybe that’s why I found it more interesting. I really also loved how Lydia Kang talked about a real genetic disorder that really does exist. Had I not have read this book, I never would have known about Ondine’s Curse, let alone know what the heck it was.

I’m not going to lie. The first about 120 pages are a bit slow and it takes some getting used to. Some of Lydia Kang’s word choices were… interesting to say the least. I can’t remember what page it was on, but she said, “flying fart”.

There were several plot twists that I was definitely not expecting and it completely blew me away! Maybe it was just me, but it got difficult trying to figure out who the evil character was. I loved all the characters (to some extend). I loved Cy and Zel’s relationship. Cy was really rude and he completely changed by the end of the book. I ended up loving him! In the beginning I hated him and I never thought I would actually like him. Vera was definitely my favorite character.

I think my favorite thing about this book was the world building. It was fantastic and just so different from what I’ve read.

favorite quotes

“Trust no one, I scold myself. Even if they smell good.”– page 70

.

I kneel by her side, and she doesn’t move away. “But Vera, Marka wants you.” I wisely neglect to mention Wilbert, Hex, or the inter-Carus cat fights. “She loves you. That’s got to mean something, right?” I force my hand out awkwardly to lay it on her shoulder. She’s still and stunning as an extinct oak tree. Beautiful and unreal. “I’m a pretty crappy sister sometimes, but you’re welcome to it. To me. You know, if you want someone to nag you and screw your life up. I’m fabulously good at that.” –page 236

Challenges This Belongs To:

DCR Banner 2014rewindNAC.2014.250px

5 thoughts on “Review: Control by Lydia Kang

  1. I haven’t read this yet, but your review makes me want to check it out–I LOVE that the protagonist has Ondine’s. What a great link between real science and sci-fi for a dystopia to play on.

    -Anna
    giantsquidbooks.com

  2. This book sounds so interesting! I like the aspect of genetic errors, definitely something new. And I really want to read the Uglies series, nice review :)

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Most Unique Books | Brianna's Bookish Confessions

Leave a Reply

