Review: Unearthly by Cynthia Hand

unearthlyUnearthly by Cynthia Hand
Series: Unearthly #1
Published by: HarperTeen on January 4th 2011
Genre: Paranormal, Angels, Fantasy, Young Adult
Pages: 435
Source: Bought- Hardcover

amazongoodreads

My Rating: 5 stars2

In the beginning, there’s a boy standing in the trees . . . .
Clara Gardner has recently learned that she’s part angel. Having angel blood run through her veins not only makes her smarter, stronger, and faster than humans (a word, she realizes, that no longer applies to her), but it means she has a purpose, something she was put on this earth to do. Figuring out what that is, though, isn’t easy.

Her visions of a raging forest fire and an alluring stranger lead her to a new school in a new town. When she meets Christian, who turns out to be the boy of her dreams (literally), everything seems to fall into place and out of place at the same time. Because there’s another guy, Tucker, who appeals to Clara’s less angelic side.

As Clara tries to find her way in a world she no longer understands, she encounters unseen dangers and choices she never thought she’d have to make between honesty and deceit, love and duty, good and evil. When the fire from her vision finally ignites, will Clara be ready to face her destiny?

Unearthly is a moving tale of love and fate, and the struggle between following the rules and following your heart.

Clara thinks she’s a normal, 16 year old girl living in California. Little does she know she has angel-blood. One day Clara has a vision in which she sees a boy in the forest; she doesn’t know what his face looks like. She just knows it’s a boy. She tells her mother and they pack and move to Wyoming where this vision takes place. This is why she’s here, she has a purpose to fulfill.

While moving in and starting at her new school, she gets more detailed visions. She comes face to face with two boys- Christian (the “it” boy, everyone knows and loves him) and Tucker (the country boy).

my thoughts 2

all time favorite

(I’m adding these now to books that I love). I’ll be adding a section on my blog featuring the books that are on my “All Time Favorite” list.

I. ABSOLUTELY. LOVED. THIS. BOOK!!!

I IMMEDIATELY wanted to second one.. I finished this about a week ago and thank gosh the second book- Hallowed is coming in the mail tomorrow. I loved every aspect of this book! The world, the characters, the plot.. Everything! I was immediately drawn into the story from the first paragraph and I knew I’d love this book. The only other angel related book I’ve read was Angelfall and I ABSOLUTELY LOVED it!

This book is fairly fast paced, I had a very hard time putting it down. I ended up reading it in 2 days. I like how the story wasn’t rushed and I REALLY enjoyed the plot twists. The conversation that Clara and her mom had at one point (I have a quote from it below) is hysterical. I found myself at times literally “laughing at loud”. All the characters– especially Tucker and Clara– have a sarcastic side and it makes the story that much more enjoyable!

Tucker… Holy cow. I love that man! I think because of the whole southern thing he has is what drew me in. He’s VERY attractive (well in Clara’s eyes) and he’s a complete sweetheart. I also loved Angela and Wendy; they were awesome friends. I think I liked Angela more if I had to pick though. She was there more for Clara than Wendy was. She was more understanding (I guess) of Clara.

If you have not read this series, I HIGHLY recommend it! It’s so fantastic and such a fun read! The whole reason in which it makes it better is Tucker. ;)

favorite quotes

“Okay, what else you got?”

“Let’s see. Carrots. That’s another common one.”

“Oh, oh– Pippi Longstocking.”

“Oh, snap,” I laugh. “Bring it on, Matchstick!” — page 104

.

“What did you ever do for fun before I came along?” I ask.

“Cow tipping.”– page 200

.

“Tucker: “But she gave me the perfect gift.”
Clara: “What?”
Tucker: “You.”– page 332

.

“I always felt like there was something off about your hair.”

“So you thought you’d torture me by calling me Carrots?”

“I still thought I’d never seen anyone as beautiful as you.” He drops his head and rubs the back of his neck, embarrassed. He’s blushing. — page 349

Challenges This Belongs To:

NAC.2014.250px

3 thoughts on “Review: Unearthly by Cynthia Hand

    • I just finished Hallowed last night. The only thing that kept me from crying was the fact that I was at my boyfriends house while reading it. :) I ordered the 3rd book and as soon as I get it, I’m reading it. :) I absolutely LOVE this trilogy very much!

  1. Pingback: Review: Hallowed by Cynthia Hand | Brianna's Bookish Confessions

Leave a Reply

