Review: Hallowed by Cynthia Hand

hallowedHallowed by Cynthia Hand
Series: Unearthly #2
Published by: HarperTeen on January 17th 2012
Genre: Paranormal, Angels, Fantasy, Young Adult
Pages: 403
Source: Bought- Hardcover

amazongoodreads

My Rating: 5 stars2

For months Clara Gardner trained to face the fire from her visions, but she wasn’t prepared for the choice she had to make that day. And in the aftermath, she discovered that nothing about being part angel is as straightforward as she thought.

Now, torn between her love for Tucker and her complicated feelings about the roles she and Christian seem destined to play in a world that is both dangerous and beautiful, Clara struggles with a shocking revelation: Someone she loves will die in a matter of months. With her future uncertain, the only thing Clara knows for sure is that the fire was just the beginning.

In this compelling sequel to Unearthly, Cynthia Hand captures the joy of first love, the anguish of loss, and the confusion of becoming who you are.

Clara is in her senior year now. She should be worrying about what she’s going to wear to prom and about graduation, but that the very last thing on her mind. She now understands what her new purpose is and will do anything to keep it from happening.

We are confronted with a character we’d never thought we’d see again.

She’s battling her feelings for Tucker and Christian. She loves Tucker very, very much but she can’t hide her feelings for Christian.

my thoughts 2

Holy cow guys! I was a little nervous for a while that this wasn’t going to be as good as Unearthly, but I was totally wrong!! Literally the only thing that kept me from bawling my eyes out last night while finishing the book was that I was at my boyfriend’s house. It would have been a little awkward if I started crying while reading a book, well at least it is for me. I’m a VERY emotional person and I get teary eyed very quickly. I did however, get teary eyed, but I forced myself not to cry. Trust me, if I was at my house I would have been crying my eyes out.

This book was so much more fantastic than Unearthly! I can’t get over how much I really enjoyed this book. I’m a little nervous to read Boundless after what happened in the end. I promise I won’t spoil anything. :) But, I did order the book and when it comes, I will be reading it ASAP.

I adore every single character in this trilogy. I love each character for a different reason. I’ll go over a couple. :)

I love Clara because she’s SO strong despite what’s going on throughout Hallowed! She holds her head up and continues on without just stopping and completely giving up on herself! She’s not like normal YA characters in a love triangle. She is fighting her feelings for Christian– which I’m Team Tucker BTW–.

I love Tucker because he’s Tucker. I don’t need anymore explanation. I LOVE Tucker so so much. I love the whole southern country boy thing. I love how he’s a COMPLETE sweetheart and a ladies man! I. JUST. LOVE. TUCKER!

I love Angela and Wendy because they are such great friends to Clara. Angela is there for Clara more because she knows exactly what Clara is going through,–SPOILER FROM UNEARTHLY— because she’s an angel also. — Not a spoiler if you’ve read Unearthly–.

I love Christian because he’s waiting for Clara! He broke up with Kay to be with Clara! I’m still Team Tucker, but I do love Christian… Just not as much as Tucker. ;) He’s so sweet and has always been there for her, no matter what. That’s what I love about him.

I’m so beyond excited to pick up Boundless and I don’t want to have to wait until Monday– possibly Tuesday– to read it. But I guess I don’t have a choice.

favorite quotes

“I sneaked out to his house a couple times in the middle of the night to watch over him while he slept, just in case, I dont know, his comic book collection decided to spontaneously combust. This was dumb and admittedly creepy in an Edward Cullen kind of way, but it was the only thing I could think to do.” — page 86

.

“Hi there,” Tucker says brightly, like we’re bumping into each other on the street.
“Uh, hi.”
“Nice night for stalking,” he observes.
“No, I was—”
“Get your butt in here, Carrots.”– page 139

.

“Okay, that was, I have to say, about the cheesiest thing I ever heard in my life,” I say to Angela as we’re milling around afterward. We hug, so Billy can take our picture. “I mean, seriously. Just be? You should write ads for Nike.”–page 393

.

6 thoughts on “Review: Hallowed by Cynthia Hand

  1. I’ve had the first book on my shelf since it came out but I never got around to reading it! The covers of these books are absolutely gorgeous! Also, I nominated you for a Liebster award over on my blog, if you want you can check it out here

  2. Pingback: March Wrap-up! | Brianna's Bookish Confessions

Leave a Reply

