Top Ten Tuesday: All Time Favorite Books in the Paranormal Genre

top ten tuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

.

This week’s theme is ‘Top Ten All Time Favorite Books in X Genre’.

.

This is in no particular order.

Some of these books can fall into other categories other than “paranormal” but I went ahead and made it the major genre. :)

miss pereguine's home for peculiar children city of bones vampire academy breaking dawn the summoning

1. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs: I think I would more categorize this as fantasy more as paranormal (well at least that’s how I have it on my shelves). But, this book was fantastic! The pictures make the story just that much more creepier. The story is so engaging and it was so so hard to put the book down!

2. The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare: I’m still in the middle of reading The Infernal Devices, so I can’t count it. But, however I am caught up on TMI and I absolutely love this series so much. I’m not looking forward to the end. This series includes any and every paranormal/supernatural creature you can possibly think of! That’s why I love it!!! The characters are so amazing and can vividly picture in your mind!

3. Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead: It’s been like 5 years since I’ve read this series, but I remember loving it so so so much. I absolutely love vampires to death (no pun intended). I went through a Twilight/vampire phase in high school when I saw Twilight. That phase lasted around a 1-1/2 year(s). Despite the cheesy covers and bad titles, this series is so definitely worth the read!

4. The Twilight Saga by Stephenie Meyer: Okay, stop with the hate. I’m pretty sure almost everyone loved this series at one point. I know for dang sure I did! This series means the world to me and it holds a big place in my heart. I literally have a Twilight shrine on my bookshelf. The only things on that shelf are Twilight related. While all my other shelves are getting overstuffed, my Twilight shelf is all neat and has plenty of space. :) I don’t understand why now this series is getting so much hate? I love this series so very much and I will continue to love it until I die.

5. Darkest Powers trilogy by Kelley Armstrong: I’ve had The Summoning and the sequel on my shelves for about 4 years now. In January I FINALLY picked the book up! Why did I wait soo long to read it? I’m not sure.. Because it was FANTASTIC! Is it about witches? No.. Don’t fool yourself like I did for 4 years. This series may be very predictable, but the characters and the story are fantastic! The creepiness/scariness is what sold me on it!

the unbecoming of mara dyer these broken stars obsidian sweet evil the-host

6. Mara Dyer trilogy by Michelle Hodkin: I don’t even need to explain my recent love for this trilogy. I can’t even explain how FANTASTIC Michelle Hodkin’s writing style is. Your constantly wondering what’s real and what isn’t! Maybe it’s all a dream?! Maybe it’s real! But I know for a fact, Noah Shaw is real. ;)

7. These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Megan Spooner: This book was absolutely AMAZING! I read it in December and absolutely fell for the two main characters! It’s not a normal love story that is centered around the love. It’s centered around the two main characters trying to survive on a planet by themselves with nothing but a small backpack and each other.

8. The Lux series by Jennifer L. Armentrout: Okay… Seriously. Jennifer L. Armentrout is a queen! I’m not joking. I absolutely LOVE her writing style and the male characters she writes about! She makes the world’s best swoon-worthy, extremely sexy, and HOT men EVER! *cough* Daemon Black *cough* ;)

9. the Sweet Evil trilogy by Wendy Higgins: I adore this series so very much. It’s freaky how similar I am to the main character, Anna. I find myself in many ways just like her. It’s a little weird.. This series is so fantastic and I LOVE the angels/demons aspect of the story! Ohh, not to mention Mr. Kaidan. ;)

10. The Host by Stephenie Meyer: I read this book last summer and I absolutely loved it. It is a pretty big book, but totally worth it! Stephenie Meyer is one of my all time favorite authors, wait, she is my all time favorite author. Her stories have such a special place in my heart (as I’ve mentioned about Twilight above). After my Twilight phase, I stopped reading up until this last June. The book I picked up was this and that’s what got me back into reading again. Coincidence that it’s Stephenie Meyer that brought back my love for reading? Maybe.

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: All Time Favorite Books in the Paranormal Genre

  1. All of these are such amazing books!!!! The Summoning was the novel that introduced me to YA and the paranormal genre, so that will always have a special place in my heart. And Mara Dyer. I love Mara Dyer. That trilogy is so creepy and beautiful and amazing. Great list!

    My Top Ten Tuesday

    • I was shocked with These Broken Stars, I didn’t realize by the end I would be obsessed with it! It was so so good! I LOVE the Lux series! I’ve only read the first 2 so I probably can’t really say that, but I do and I’m super excited to continue!

Leave a Reply

