Review: White Hot Kiss by Jennifer L. Armentrout

white hot kissWhite Hot Kiss by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Series: Dark Elements #1
Published by: Harlequin Teen on February 25th 2014
Genre: Paranormal, Angels, Fantasy, Young Adult
Pages: 400
Source: Bought- Paperback

amazongoodreads

My Rating: 5 stars2

One kiss could be the last.

Seventeen-year-old Layla just wants to be normal. But with a kiss that kills anything with a soul, she’s anything but normal. Half demon, half gargoyle, Layla has abilities no one else possesses.

Raised among the Wardens—a race of gargoyles tasked with hunting demons and keeping humanity safe—Layla tries to fit in, but that means hiding her own dark side from those she loves the most. Especially Zayne, the swoon-worthy, incredibly gorgeous and completely off-limits Warden she’s crushed on since forever.

Then she meets Roth—a tattooed, sinfully hot demon who claims to know all her secrets. Layla knows she should stay away, but she’s not sure she wants to—especially when that whole no-kissing thing isn’t an issue, considering Roth has no soul.

But when Layla discovers she’s the reason for the violent demon uprising, trusting Roth could not only ruin her chances with Zayne…it could brand her a traitor to her family. Worse yet, it could become a one-way ticket to the end of the world.

Layla is half demon, half gargoyle… Okay, Warden. The minute she puts her lips up to yours, your soul is gone. She was adopted to a group of Wardens and raised as a Warden.

Layla tries to fit in even though she knows deep down, she’s still half demon. Wardens kill demons. She has had a massive crush on Zayne, who has been nothing but sweet and a best friend to Layla since she arrived.

Now able to go to school like a normal teenager, she is confronted with the last thing she was never hoping to have contact with… A demon. But this isn’t just any demon… It’s Roth… Swoon-worthy, tattooed, extremely sexy, Roth. But, trusting Roth could mean losing Zayne and her family that she has been so close with for so long.

my thoughts 2

Holy.. Moly… Guacamole! I can’t contain my feelings right now. Maybe it’s a bad idea to write a review as soon as I finish a book, but I’m doing it anyway! :)

I was a little nervous about reading a series about gargoyles.. I’ve never come across a book about gargoyles! Ever! So I was a little nervous going into it. I’m really glad I read the novella before picking this up, it really helped explain some things.

Guys, I can’t stress how much I love Jennifer L. Armentrout and the stories she writes! She’s seriously the Queen of Swoon-Worthy Men. Not joking. I haven’t read a book by her yet that doesn’t have a swoon-worthy character… Roth? Check. Daemon? Check. Kyler? Check. Zayne? Check.

Everything about this book was fantastic. The writing was– as always– fantastic. The characters were stunning. The world building was absolutely fantastic! I really wanted a continuation of Dez and Jasmine’s story, but I can definitely settle (not a very good word choice) with Layla’s story because it was absolutely amazing.

I loved Layla! She was such an awesome character. At times, she would start to get annoying, but then I would understand why she was acting the way she did. Roth was wow. Words can’t even describe him. I mean really!? He’s a DEMON. Your supposed to hate him. Ohh wait, not to mention he’s an Upper Level demon. So double hate. Nope. Complete opposite!!

Zayne was adorable, but I would rather go for Roth. He bugged me at one part in the story for a big reason which I can’t say.

But, I have to wait until the end of October to read Stone Cold Touch?! Not cool.

favorite quotes

“I lost myself the moment I found you.”– page 372

.

“You need something,” he said, and when I stared at him, he added, “Your face.”
“My face?”
“It’s in need of my kisses.”– page 307

.

Stacey groaned. “I can’t believe Mr. Leto wouldn’t let us do our classics report on Twilight. It is a classic.”

I laughed, momentarily forgetting about thee job I had to do. “Twilight is not a classic, Stacey.”

“Edward is definitely a classic in my book.” She pulled a hair tie out of her pocket, tugging her shoulder-length hair up. “And Twilight is way more interesting than All Quiet on the Western Front.”– page 11

.

“Does he have a name?”

Roth arched a brow. “Thumper.”

I laughed out loud. “What is it with you and Disney names?”

“I like the name.”–page 292

5 thoughts on “Review: White Hot Kiss by Jennifer L. Armentrout

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: “Gateway” Books/Authors In My Reading Journey | Brianna's Bookish Confessions

  2. Pingback: March Wrap-up! | Brianna's Bookish Confessions

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Most Unique Books | Brianna's Bookish Confessions

Leave a Reply

