Review: The War Inside by M. Kircher

the war insideThe War Inside by M. Kircher
Series: The Horizons Trilogy #1
Published by: Amazon.com on July 28th 2013
Genre: Dystopia, Science Fiction, Fantasy, Young Adult
Pages: 362
Source: E-Book copy from author

amazongoodreads

My Rating: 3.5 stars

I received a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review from the author. It does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The end of the world is only just the beginning. So eighteen-year-old Thea discovers when her solitary life on a dying Earth is shattered by a mysterious dream, a devastating choice, and a strange gift that propels her on a journey towards the restoration of all mankind.

Thea is bitter and alone; a perfect embodiment of the sunless, cloud-covered Earth she inhabits. A terrifying dream convinces her to save the life of an injured girl, and despite her misgivings, Thea decides to rescue sixteen-year old Viviana. She soon learns that gentle Viv has a life-threatening infection, as well as a freakish patch of glowing skin over her heart. When this light spreads to Thea, she is forced to trust Caden, an arrogant, lazy, and annoyingly handsome boy she despises. Caden has a map to the last city on Earth, and the only place that might have a cure for both Viv’s infection and the strange light on Thea’s hands. As the trio embark on a journey through the barren wilderness, Thea and Caden try to fight their mounting attraction and discover that the light is not a curse, but a powerful gift meant to heal the polluted Earth and reconnect the remnants of humanity. What they don’t know is that deadly shadows watch them, waiting for the chance to make sure that humans stay in the darkness forever.

Here’s the best way to describe her dystopian world:

“Before the blackout and before the canopy, the sun shone brightly. The earth was green and lush, and the sky was bright blue, just the color of your eyes, Rain. People were different then. They had families, married, and made children out of love. They grew old together. People sang and danced and created art. It was a wonderful time. But then people became greedy and absorbed in what they called technology. This technology ate up more and more of their time and hearts. Soon they forgot about each other. They forgot to care about their families. They even forgot that there was a whole beautiful world outside that they were polluting to death with chemicals and trash.”

Thea has been living by herself for some time now. Her mother isn’t in the picture anymore-she actually hates her mother. Her mother is constantly stealing from her and using her.

One day Thea has a very vivid dream about a girl getting attacked. She then wakes up and finds this girl. Her name is Vivana– or Viv–. Each day her infection from being cut is getting worse, so Thea has to find a way to cure her. They come across one person that Thea absolutely despises- Caden. He tells them that he knows where to take Viv. Thea doesn’t trust him, but she doesn’t have any other choice because if they don’t do something Viv will die.

Being curious, Thea was changing Viv’s banages and comes across a wrapping across her stomach.. Little did she know what she was getting into that Viv had a patch of glowing skin underneath.

my thoughts 2

This literally took me a month to read. I’m seriously the worst reviewer ever! I made it to where I would read in between my classes, but I only got about 25% done. It wasn’t that I hated the book, it was because I didn’t have time to read on my iPad. I usually don’t read from there, I’d rather read physical copies. So, while I’m on Spring Break, I decided to power through and finish the last 75% of the book. :)

I VERY much enjoyed this world! That was my favorite aspect of this book. This world is SO realistic and this could definitely happen someday! Our generation has become so obsessed with technology, that no one goes outside anymore! I remember when I was little, I LOVED playing outside! I would play outside all day! Now, I’d rather stay inside and read books and watch TV and be lazy! I know that I’m not the only one though. :)

The one thing I didn’t like about this book was the main character, Thea. For about 75% of this book, she was annoying and I couldn’t stand her. I’m really glad the last quarter of the book, she proved herself and her attitude changed. But, with how this world is set up, it’s “survival of the fittest” so I somewhat understand the reason as to why she was so annoying and rude. She has a very hard time trusting people because the one person that she shouldn’t have to worry about trusting is her own mother. Which, in the very first part of the book, you find that her mother is the reasoning as to why Thea doesn’t trust anyone.

My favorite character is probably Viv. She was such an awesome and strong character. Despite the fact that her infection is getting worse and worse by day, she always had a smile on her face. She always had a positive attitude and it helped cancel out Thea’s attitude.

My favorite thing, as I’ve mentioned previously, was the world building. This is definitely one of my top favorite dystopian worlds. It was very realistic and I really had a fun time with this world.

The only question I have, is where did the glow come from? How did Viv end up with this? I know the whole story (somewhat) as to WHY she has it, but how? How does this relate to the dystopian world? Was she born with this?

I’m really excited to see what happens next to these characters! I most definitely will be carrying on with this story! :)

favorite quotes

Their precious technology had driven them apart. Stolen their souls. They lost the ability to love, to see the worth in each other. And once starvation set in, even spouses and children became enemies. Families were torn apart by greed and mistrust. — M. Kircher, The War Inside

.

“Cows!” Caden said, cupping his hands around his mouth. “You know, like ‘moo’?” — M. Kircher, The War Inside

.

What could a pair of girls do against an eternity of darkness? — M. Kircher, The War Inside

.

“I believe that even in man’s greatest hour of darkness, we still can choose to walk toward the light. Wherever that light comes from, its goodness is what I choose for myself and what I hope for us all. The light brings life, the darkness only death.” — M. Kircher, The War Inside

.

Challenges This Belongs To:

DCR Banner 2014rewind NAC.2014.250px

2 thoughts on “Review: The War Inside by M. Kircher

  1. Pingback: March Wrap-up! | Brianna's Bookish Confessions

  2. Pingback: Blog Tour: ‘Dream On’ by M. Kircher | D'eBook Sharing Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

