ARC Review: The Here and Now by Ann Brashares

the here and nowThe Here and Now by Ann Brashares
Series: N/A
Published by: Delacorte Press on April 8th 2014
Genre: Science Fiction, Time Travel, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 288
Source: ARC from NetGalley

amazongoodreads

My Rating: 2.5 stars

I received an ARC copy in exchange for an honest review from NetGalley. It does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

An unforgettable epic romantic thriller about a girl from the future who might be able to save the world . . . if she lets go of the one thing she’s found to hold on to.

Follow the rules. Remember what happened. Never fall in love.

This is the story of seventeen-year-old Prenna James, who immigrated to New York when she was twelve. Except Prenna didn’t come from a different country. She came from a different time—a future where a mosquito-borne illness has mutated into a pandemic, killing millions and leaving the world in ruins.

Prenna and the others who escaped to the present day must follow a strict set of rules: never reveal where they’re from, never interfere with history, and never, ever be intimate with anyone outside their community. Prenna does as she’s told, believing she can help prevent the plague that will one day ravage the earth.

But everything changes when Prenna falls for Ethan Jarves.

From Ann Brashares, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants series, The Here and Now is thrilling, exhilarating, haunting, and heartbreaking—and a must-read novel of the year.

Twelve year old Prenna has immigrated to present day New York, but not from a different country. She came from the future in which mosquitoes carried an illness which killed almost everybody that came in contact with one. Now in present day, they are to follow strict rules- no relationships, no hospitals, anything that involves direct contact with people. They have to keep the secret of their generation.

Five years later, now seventeen years old, Prenna has to try and stop an event which will change the future. But, one of these events may or may not involve someone she has started to fall for-Ethan.

my thoughts 2

I was honestly a little disappointed in this one. :( I didn’t however read the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, but I did watch the movies. Which probably doesn’t help. But I loved the movies and I had a feeling I’d love the books even more. Maybe I just had too high of expectations for this book and it just wasn’t met. I also debated whether to give this a 3/5 stars or 2.5/5 stars, I had a hard time deciding.

I REALLY enjoyed the future and how the mosquitoes basically killed off everything. I found that interesting. I’m VERY VERY VERY allergic to mosquitoes… It’s bad. So to read about a world where mosquitoes are killing off everyone, well, hate to say it- but I’d be the first to die most likely. But I however, really enjoyed this aspect of the story!

I had a hard time keeping up with the times and pin-pointing who goes with what. I had a very difficult time connecting with all the characters, especially Prenna. I really tried to connect, but it just wasn’t happening for me. :(

I felt Ethan and Prenna’s relationship was a little… Strange to say the least. I felt it was somewhat insta-love like she woke up one day and was like “Oh, I think I love Ethan”. Ethan was a little touchy-feely and wanted to get into her pants… It was a little disturbing to me. I really tried to let it slide and try and understand, but I just couldn’t. It weirded me out, because to me it seemed like that’s all he cared about was getting in Prenna’s pants.

The synopsis doesn’t really explain really what goes on in the story, and to be truthful- I couldn’t really tell you either. The only thing I could give you, is the basics. The pure basics and nothing else. There was very little world development and character development. Which are 2 things I look for most in the book; whether I can understand the world and if I can connect with the characters and actually visualize everything that’s going on. (Put myself in their shoes and live what they are going through-to an extent.) This book definitely didn’t reach those. At some points I could, but it was very hard to understand what was going on.

I do however REALLY like how this is a stand-alone. There aren’t many stand-alones in Young Adult anymore so it was refreshing. There could be a possible second book, but it’s not necessary.

One thought on “ARC Review: The Here and Now by Ann Brashares

  1. Pingback: March Wrap-up! | Brianna's Bookish Confessions

Leave a Reply

