Bookish Confessions (#4): the Paranormal Genre

bookish confessionsHey guys! It’s been a couple weeks since I’ve done one of these posts. I’ve had a couple ideas but as soon as I would get to write them (like now) the ideas just floated away. So, here I am with one that I just remembered. :) The rest will come in eventually… :)

So the paranormal genre…

I’ve been with this genre since Twilight. It’s hands down my all time favorite genre. Dystopian is VERY close after. But, I don’t know what it is, maybe it’s still my little vampire obsession, but I don’t know. Something about the paranormal genre just draws me in and sucks me in. I absolutely love it and I’ve only ran into maybe 2 books of the at least 100 paranormal books I’ve read, that weren’t my favorite. I didn’t hate them, but I didn’t love them either.

uninvitedA prime example of that is Uninvited by Amanda Marrone that I read back in October I believe. I really enjoyed the vampire aspect and how Amanda envisioned her way of a vampire. But, the characters weren’t doing it for me.

Another series I really enjoyed, but it wasn’t my favorite was the Vampire Kisses series by Ellen Schrieber. immortal heartsThat’s actually the last book in the series that’s pictured. But, I REALLY enjoyed how Ellen makes her vampires the typical vampire- afraid of garlic, live in a very Gothic type house, sleep in coffins, etc. Most people don’t enjoy this series and I kind of understand why. But it’s not what vampires are being pictured as today! When a lot of people today think of vampires, they think of Mr. Edward Cullen. Mr. Sparkly and Shiny. Don’t get me wrong, I’m a complete Twi-Hard fan. I really enjoy seeing different authors views on what they think vampires are!

Okay, obviously vampires are a big influence as to why I love the paranormal genre so much. But, I do really enjoy other supernatural creatures- ghosts, werewolves (read a couple books), Demons, etc. Maybe I watch too much Supernatural, Vampire Diaries, American Horror Story, and things like those which maybe why I’m so drawn to the paranormal genre. I don’t even know if that makes sense or not. It does to me. :) But, anyway. You put me in front of a scary movie and I’ll flip out and kick and scream! But I can sit through Supernatural and American Horror Story?? Yeah, makes no sense to me either. I’m really interested into why I am like that.

But anyway, there’s just something about it that I love. Maybe it’s that whenever I’m driving home from work or something I think there might be something out there… When there’s really not. Because they don’t exist. Hope I’m not the only one that thinks that because I’ll feel really dumb.

white hot kissAnother paranormal aspect I’ve been really obsessing over is Jennifer L. Armentrout’s new series- the Dark Elements!! SERIOUSLY!? Gargoyles?! I have NEVER come across a YA book that is centered around GARGOYLES! I was a little nervous about reading it.. seriously, like gargoyles? When I think gargoyles, I think Hunchback of Notre Dame that sit on top of the Cathedral or whatever that was. Stone, creepy little beast things! Not these AWESOME Nephilim, sleek gargoyles! And to include demons!? Make that different classes of demons!? Hello, Supernatural! :) I was completely drawn to this world. Even weeks later after reading it, I’m still obsessed with the story and the world! Ohh, let’s not forget Bambi. ;) For those that have read White Hot Kiss will know what I’m talking about, those that haven’t don’t worry I won’t spoil it. :)

Anyway, there’s just something amazing that I love about the paranormal genre. Looking at my bookshelf that now has 15 individual shelves (3 bookshelves which each have 5 shelves in each), about 6-7 give or take are paranormal related books. 2 1/2 shelves contain just vampires. Obsessed much? Maybe. :)

 

5 thoughts on “Bookish Confessions (#4): the Paranormal Genre

  1. I’m quite a fan of the paranormal genre myself. I like myself a bit of Vampires, but I especially like Ghosts, which I would class has Horror, and Werewolves, just because they’re damn alluring and fluffy. The paranormal genre is one I was weerie off because of Twilight, never read it personal, do intend to some day, but it was all about that series, but after sifting through, I’ve found it’s a good genre. I’m a little picky, but still, it has it’s bonuses. I have White Hot Kiss and I’m pretty excited to read it, so here’s hoping it’s as good as you said Bri! By the way, when I said my new design would be live Sunday, it’s up today, I just couldn’t wait, I thought you’d like to know :) great post though hun! :D

    • I’m so late to responding!! I’m soo sorry girl! But anyways, holy cow! You haven’t read Twilight!? :O READ!! Go into it with a clean slate. Don’t let all the hype and everything ruin it for you! I absolutely ADORE that series so much! Yes, the movies aren’t all that great, but the books are AMAZING! You’ll definitely like White Hot Kiss. If you’ve read anything else by JLA, I’m definitely sure you will! I’ve read Obsidian, Onyx, Bitter Sweet Love, White Hot Kiss, Frigid and Wait for You. All of them are 5/5 and my absolute all time favorites!

    • SERIOUSLY!!! I’ve read 6 of her books, and I’ve absolutely LOVED all of them! I have a SHRINE for her below my Twilight shrine! She’s my second all time favorite author. I pre-ordered Don’t Look Back and I’m beyond excited! :D I’ve made it a goal to be caught up with all her books by the end of 2014!

  2. Pingback: Bloggin' Recap: March 23rd-29th | The Day Dreamer and Candy EaterThe Day Dreamer and Candy Eater

Leave a Reply

