Bookish Confessions (#5): Becoming Self-Hosted

bookish confessions

 

Yeah I know your thinking, “Brianna, you just posted one of these!” Well, I don’t have a S.t.S. post for you today and I still wanted to post something.

So self-hosted… If you haven’t already guessed I’m not self-hosted. At least not yet.

Hopefully in mid-May, early June I’ll be transitioning to self-hosted. As I’ve mentioned before, I have absolutely NO clue what the heck I’m doing. Yes, I check Ashley @ Nose Graze constantly. Her posts are VERY helpful!

But, I need to know-How much does it cost to start off as self-hosted?

I don’t own my website or anything yet. I don’t have a very good paying job where I can just throw out money like it’s nothing so I need to know kind of how much I’m spending when I transition and if it’s something I can do in a couple months.

How much did you guys spend (for those that have self-hosted) when you first transitioned? Do you still pay a lot of money to keep up with it?

I really want to have the benefits of being self-hosted.. But I really have NO CLUE where to start and I’d really like your guys’ help. :)

Sorry if you guys are getting annoyed with these posts… I’m annoyed to. ;)

 

Thanks guys!!! :D

5 thoughts on “Bookish Confessions (#5): Becoming Self-Hosted

  1. I have been thinking about the same thing, I kind of want to leave blogger, but I’m worried about costs, and I also have NO CLUE what I’m doing. I feel like I need someone to set it all up for me and then show me how to use it. Because it’s super stressful.

    • Definitely look into Ashley from Nose Graze! I’ve been following her blog post tips for a while now. I just don’t have the money or time to do it right now. I’m hoping to transition in the summer, but we will see how that goes!

  2. Pingback: Bloggin' Recap: March 23rd-29th | The Day Dreamer and Candy EaterThe Day Dreamer and Candy Eater

  3. I’ve wanted to go self-hosted myself for a while now, but similarly to you I have so many questions and concerns about it! I hope you figure it out. Good luck. :)

Leave a Reply

