Review: Incarnate by Jodi Meadows

incarnateIncarnate by Jodi Meadows
Series: Newsoul #1
Published by: Katherine Tegen Books on January 31st 2012
Genre: Fantasy, Romance, Dystopia, Young Adult
Pages: 374
Source: Purchased- Hardcover

amazongoodreads

My Rating: 4.5 stars

New soul

Ana is new. For thousands of years in Range, a million souls have been reincarnated over and over, keeping their memories and experiences from previous lifetimes. When Ana was born, another soul vanished, and no one knows why.

No soul

Even Ana’s own mother thinks she’s a nosoul, an omen of worse things to come, and has kept her away from society. To escape her seclusion and learn whether she’ll be reincarnated, Ana travels to the city of Heart, but its citizens are afraid of what her presence means. When dragons and sylph attack the city, is Ana to blame?

Heart

Sam believes Ana’s new soul is good and worthwhile. When he stands up for her, their relationship blooms. But can he love someone who may live only once, and will Ana’s enemies—human and creature alike—let them be together? Ana needs to uncover the mistake that gave her someone else’s life, but will her quest threaten the peace of Heart and destroy the promise of reincarnation for all?

Jodi Meadows expertly weaves soul-deep romance, fantasy, and danger into an extraordinary tale of new life.

Ana is a newsoul- or as she likes to call it nosoul-. She’s only been alive for 18 years whereas everyone else has been alive for thousands of years. Ana wasn’t supposed to be born, Ciana was. But, somehow Ciana was never reincarnated. But how?

Ana meets Sam who saved her from sylph (almost invisible supernatural creatures that burn you). Ana and Sam are traveling to Heart, where the majority of people live and where they are most protected from the dragons and slyph. No one likes Ana because she’s a newsoul and won’t let her live in Heart.

Dragons and slyph are always trying to attack everyone. Good thing is, if these people die, they will be reincarnated within the next couple years. Yes, they are dying, but they still come back in the future. But, something extreme happens and maybe that’s not the case. Can Ana figure out what’s going on?

my thoughts 2

I’m so glad I finally picked this up! I have been hearing nothing but amazing things about this trilogy. Let’s not forget to mention the covers… Guys, these are HANDS DOWN my all time favorite covers. I can’t stop staring at them!

I was immediately drawn into the story as it began which was a good sign that I was going to really enjoy this book. Yes, it’s not my all time favorite. But, there were parts where it kind of dragged on. The plot twists were definitely unexpected! I don’t think at one point, I was able to figure out what was going on.

I absolutely loved the characters! They were so interesting. Each time your reincarnated, your not guaranteed the same gender. You could die a male and be born as a female. It was a little weird. But, it explains the unisex names. I’m sure a male wouldn’t want to be called Anabelle or something like that. Like imagine dying, coming back in the opposite sex, and remembering everything from past lives as well as how you died? You can actually remember how you died.. Definitely mind boggling.

There was hardly any romance, well kind of. It was one sided for a while.

I could vividly imagine what this world looked like by the end of the book. I’ll admit that in the beginning, it was a little hard at times, but I got the hang of it. I really liked seeing the dragons and slyphs from Ana’s perspective and how she described how they looked. I’m definitely glad I don’t live in this world, because those creatures are scary as heck and what they are able to do.

The symbolize of the butterfly!!!! I wonder how the next book is going to correlate to the flower wings type thing…. :)

I’m really excited to pick up the next book!

favorite quotes

“There’s always the option of deciding for yourself who you are and what you’ll become.”– Jodi Meadows, Incarnate

.

“Shaggy?” … “The horse? Creative name.”

“His full name is Not as Shaggy as His Father, but that’s a mouthful.” Sam’s grin turned into a grimace when he tried his coffee. — page 33

.

“I’m not going to waste time being angry about things I can’t control. If I only have one life, I should make the most of it.” — page 39

.

“What about me?” Stef mumbled. “No kiss for me?”

“Sorry, Stef. I’ll hold your hand, though.” –page 265

5 thoughts on “Review: Incarnate by Jodi Meadows

  1. I’ve been meaning to stop by your blog for a while now, glad I arrived at such a great book! I really want to read this series, the ideas seem so original! And as always, love the quotes!

  2. Pingback: March Wrap-up! | Brianna's Bookish Confessions

Leave a Reply

