Review: Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire

beautiful disasterBeautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire
Series: Beautiful #1
Published by: Atria Books on August 14th 2012
Genre: Romance, Contemporary, Contemporary Romance, New Adult
Pages: 416
Source: Purchased- Paperback

amazongoodreads

My Rating: 5 stars2

all time favorite

The new Abby Abernathy is a good girl. She doesn’t drink or swear, and she has the appropriate number of cardigans in her wardrobe. Abby believes she has enough distance from the darkness of her past, but when she arrives at college with her best friend, her path to a new beginning is quickly challenged by Eastern University’s Walking One-Night Stand.

Travis Maddox, lean, cut, and covered in tattoos, is exactly what Abby needs—and wants—to avoid. He spends his nights winning money in a floating fight ring, and his days as the ultimate college campus charmer. Intrigued by Abby’s resistance to his appeal, Travis tricks her into his daily life with a simple bet. If he loses, he must remain abstinent for a month. If Abby loses, she must live in Travis’s apartment for the same amount of time. Either way, Travis has no idea that he has met his match.

Abby and her best friend, America leave their hometown to go to college in a different state. Abby wants to leave her past behind her. New state, new life. America and Abby have a pact they will not go to parties without each other.

Abby and America go to a fight one night and Abby meets the famous Travis Maddox. A.K.A. Mr. One Night Stand. Travis is covered in tatoos, has never had a girlfriend, smokes, and always wins fights. No matter what.

Travis makes a bet with Abby in which either Travis becomes abstinent for a month, or Abby will sleep at Travis’ house for the next month. Which side will win?

my thoughts 2

I’m sure I could have written a better synopsis if I didn’t just finish this book so all the feelings are still extremely raw.

To say the least, this is now one of my ALL TIME FAVORITE contemporary/romance books ever! (Hence, that’s why I have that little badge underneath my rating ;) )

I never wanted to put this book down. Ever. I don’t think I have ever cried this much about a book in a LONG time. By the 75% mark of the book, I was SOBBING. I could not stop crying. Abby and Travis are hands down one of my all time favorite couples. I didn’t expect to love them this much, but I did. I absolutely love those two to pieces! This review may turn into a fangirl review, so you have been warned. ;)

I have been obsessed with New Adult lately and I’m so so so glad I picked this book up! It was SO worth the read and I would definitely pick it up again and again. I will definitely be re-reading this again in the future-no questions asked! I’m really excited to read Walking Disaster which is Travis’ point of view throughout what happened in Beautiful Disaster. I’m so excited to see what goes on in that sexy mind of his. :)

Guys!!! This book!!! I can’t even… I can’t even EXPRESS how much I absolutely LOVED this book!!!

I loved how Travis nicknamed Abby “pigeon or pidge”! It reminds me SO much of Lady and the Tramp! The first time he called her that, I started laughing (good memories of that movie).

I really want to see America and Shepley’s relationship!!! I adored them as well! I really hope that in the future, Jamie McGuire decides to write about them because I loved them as well.

I seriously can’t express my feelings for this book without going absolutely crazy… Maybe I should have given myself time to soak the story in before writing my review… Oh well. :)

Everything about this book was absolutely perfect! The character development was spot on. The side characters were fantastic! The action was AMAZING! The drama was well… drama. The romance was HOLY COW. Everything was just amazing. :)

I’m so beyond excited to read Walking Disaster and A Beautiful Wedding! Words can’t describe how much I absolutely adored this book. Seriously, if you have not picked this up, please do. If your under 15-16 years old, I don’t recommend it though considering it is New Adult and it contains sex. But if you love romance and/or new adult, I HIGHLY recommend this!

favorite quotes

“To douchebags!” he said, gesturing to Brad. “And to girls that break your heart,” he bowed his head to me. His eyes lost focus. “And to the absolute fucking horror of losing your best friend because you were stupid enough to fall in love with her.”– page 363

.

“You like Pigeon.” he said defensively. “It’s a dove, an attractive girl, a winning card in poker, take your pick. You’re my Pigeon.” — page 105

.

Travis watched me for a moment, noted those staring, and then stood up. “I CAN’T!” he yelled. I stared in awe as the entire room jerked their heads in his direction. Travis bobbed his head a couple of times to a beat in his head.

Shepley closed his eyes. “Oh, no.”

Travis smiled. “Get no…sa…tis…faction.” he sang. — page 164

.

“I know we’re fucked up, alright? I’m impulsive, and hot tempered, and you get under my skin like no one else. You act like you hate me one minute, and then need me the next. I never get anything right, and I don’t deserve you…but I fucking love you, Abby. I love you more than I loved anyone or anything ever. When you’re around, I don’t need booze, or money, or the fighting, or the one-night stands… all I need is you. You’re all I think about. You’re all I dream about. You’re all I want.” — page 193

.

“I belong to my beloved, and my beloved is mine.”– page 246

.

“You know why I want you? I didn’t know I was lost until you found me. I didn’t know what alone was until the first night I spent without you in my bed. You’re the one thing I’ve got right. You’re what I’ve been waiting for, Pigeon.”– page 252

5 thoughts on “Review: Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire

  1. So glad you liked it. LOVE this book. Travis is just amazing. I liked that they didn’t get together right away. This is most defo one of my all time favorite books. I love when people meet and love Travis as much as I did. :)

  2. Pingback: Review: Walking Diaster by Jamie McGuire - Brianna's Bookish ConfessionsBrianna's Bookish Confessions

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Want to Re-Read - Brianna's Bookish ConfessionsBrianna's Bookish Confessions

  4. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Characters I Wish Would Get Their OWN Book - Brianna's Bookish ConfessionsBrianna's Bookish Confessions

Leave a Reply

