Review: Reboot by Amy Tintera

rebootReboot by Amy Tintera
Series: Reboot #1
Published by: HarperTeen on May 7th 2013
Genre: Dystopia, Science Fiction, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 365
Source: Purchased- Hardcover

amazongoodreads

My Rating: 3.5 stars

Five years ago, Wren Connolly was shot three times in the chest. After 178 minutes she came back as a Reboot: stronger, faster, able to heal, and less emotional. The longer Reboots are dead, the less human they are when they return. Wren 178 is the deadliest Reboot in the Republic of Texas. Now seventeen years old, she serves as a soldier for HARC (Human Advancement and Repopulation Corporation).

Wren’s favorite part of the job is training new Reboots, but her latest newbie is the worst she’s ever seen. As a 22, Callum Reyes is practically human. His reflexes are too slow, he’s always asking questions, and his ever-present smile is freaking her out. Yet there’s something about him she can’t ignore. When Callum refuses to follow an order, Wren is given one last chance to get him in line—or she’ll have to eliminate him. Wren has never disobeyed before and knows if she does, she’ll be eliminated, too. But she has also never felt as alive as she does around Callum.

The perfect soldier is done taking orders.

Wren died five years ago by three shots to the chest. After being dead for 178 minutes, she came back as a Reboot. Every one thought she was completely dead and wouldn’t reboot. Reboots come back stronger, healthier, and not as emotional when they were human. The longer you were dead for, the less human you are. Wren is one of those that isn’t really human anymore, of all Reboots, she is probably the most dead.

Wren is a soldier to the HARC which is “helping out” the country. Wren usually picks up reboots over 120, but this time, she picks 22, Callum. He is very much human, only being dead for 22 minutes. Callum doesn’t like to follow orders or do what he’s supposed to. Can Wren keep him in line? Because if not, she will have to eliminate him.

my thoughts 2

I read this along with a friend from BookTube, because we both have a 6 book list of books to read together and this was the one we picked. Well, I fell behind because of classes. But that’s beside the point.

I really did enjoy the book, don’t get me wrong. It wasn’t my favorite, but I did enjoy the idea of the story. The one thing that bugged me the most was Wren/Callum’s relationship. I felt as if they spent a lot of time kissing. I know that sounds weird, but they seemed to be kissing quite a lot. They are running for their lives, one gets tired, “ohh let’s start making out”. I don’t know, it was just a little off-putting for me.

As I’ve said, my favorite aspect of this story was the world the author created. I liked the idea of dying and rebooting, and the longer you were dead, the less human you came back as. The world building was amazing! I could vividly imagine what was going on in this world. Maybe because the book is set in Texas and that’s where I live… But nonetheless, the world building was my favorite!

I definitely liked Wren’s character, everything about her was awesome! She was such a kick butt character, funny, and just plain AWESOME!

I also really enjoyed Callum’s character; I liked the fact that he was still pretty much human. He brought out the human side in Wren, yes it was there, but he made her realize that she is still human even though she was dead for 178 minutes.

The last few chapters in my opinion were too predictable, everything that happened was too unreal. There was one part that I was questioning as to why it happened so easily. I promise I won’t spoil it for you guys. :) But, it just seemed all too easy and just predictable.

I definitely do want to continue on with this series/trilogy because I do want to see what happens next. Those that have received ARC’s of Rebel, have either been 4/5 or 5/5 stars so that’s exciting to hear!

favorite quotes

“And that smile. That smile was stranger here. Newbies didn’t come in smiling; they came in terrified and miserable.

He was definitely weird.” — page 35

.

“I saw your face when they took those kids away. You feel everything, just like the rest of us.” He paused, considering me before a mischievous glint sparkled in his eyes. “And you totally have the hots for me.”

A surprised laugh escaped my mouth.

“What? you do.” — page 234-35

.

“Nope, sorry. I don’t care about the scars and neither should you. All or nothing.”

“Then you may get nothing.”

“Please. You’re not going to be able to resist me for much longer.” — page 277

.

Challenges This Belongs To:

DCR Banner 2014rewind

 

2 thoughts on “Review: Reboot by Amy Tintera

  1. I really want to read this! It sounds so original and I love the whole rebooting idea, thanks for sharing :)

Leave a Reply

