Review: The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd

the madman's daughterThe Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd
Series: The Madman’s Daughter #1
Published by: Balzer + Bray on January 29th 2013
Genre: Historical Fiction, Horror, Fantasy, Young Adult
Pages: 420
Source: Purchased- Hardcover

amazongoodreads

My Rating: 4.5 stars

In the darkest places, even love is deadly.

Sixteen-year-old Juliet Moreau has built a life for herself in London—working as a maid, attending church on Sundays, and trying not to think about the scandal that ruined her life. After all, no one ever proved the rumors about her father’s gruesome experiments. But when she learns he is alive and continuing his work on a remote tropical island, she is determined to find out if the accusations are true.

Accompanied by her father’s handsome young assistant, Montgomery, and an enigmatic castaway, Edward—both of whom she is deeply drawn to—Juliet travels to the island, only to discover the depths of her father’s madness: He has experimented on animals so that they resemble, speak, and behave as humans. And worse, one of the creatures has turned violent and is killing the island’s inhabitants. Torn between horror and scientific curiosity, Juliet knows she must end her father’s dangerous experiments and escape her jungle prison before it’s too late. Yet as the island falls into chaos, she discovers the extent of her father’s genius—and madness—in her own blood.

Inspired by H. G. Wells’s classic The Island of Dr. Moreau, The Madman’s Daughter is a dark and breathless Gothic thriller about the secrets we’ll do anything to know and the truths we’ll go to any lengths to protect.

16 year old Juliet lives in London working as a maid. She wasn’t born into poverty, something happened to get her to that place. Her father is a scientist and a surgeon and one of the world’s best. Juliet can’t get people to listen to her that her father isn’t who he seems to be.

Juliet finds a friend whom used to work for her family- Montgomery and wants to go with him to the island that her father is now on. While on that trip, they meet castaway, Edward. Once they get to the island, Juliet soon realizes that maybe she should have stayed in London. Her father is doing experiments with animals… But is making them have humanlike characteristics. On top of that, one of the creatures has gone violent and is killing left and right. Juliet starts to soon realize maybe she is part of the madness as well.

my thoughts 2

I REALLY enjoyed this book! I really enjoyed the science aspect the most. As scary and gruesome it gets in the book, I was so interested in what was going on. There wasn’t a spot in the book where I wasn’t completely immersed in the world. Even a week after reading this, I still can’t get over the ending!

I’ve never read a historical fiction book before, so I was a little nervous going into it. But, I came out absolutely loving the book! I’m really glad I decided to pick it up when I did because I don’t know if I would have picked it up anytime sooner!

Maybe some people can’t handle all the gore and stuff that happens in this book, but I was totally unaffected by it. That makes me sound kind of creepy now… Maybe I shouldn’t say that kind of stuff… I hope you guys don’t think I’m weird now. :)

But anyway, I can’t get over how much I loved this book!!! I have not however read the classic or heard of it- The Island of Dr. Moreau. But had I gone into the book with that classic, I probably would have had a better understanding of just how dark and creepy this book was. Once the book hit half way, I had an incredibly hard time putting the book down. I ended up finishing the last half of the book in one sitting. I just could not put it down. I wanted to read more and figure out what was going on. There were so many unexpected plot twists that I was definitely not expecting and that’s probably what I loved most. I was always hanging off the edge of my chair (figuratively).

Every time I kept seeing Juliet, I kept thinking of Romeo and Juliet and the Shatter Me trilogy. Romeo and Juliet is one of my favorite love stories and Shatter Me is one of my all time favorite series/trilogies. So anytime I saw Juliet, I automatically thought of those 2 characters. I don’t know why though. Because this Juliet is nothing like the other 2.

Usually I get tired of love triangles because they are so common in the YA community, but I don’t know how I feel about this one. Maybe it could have been done without. I didn’t really like Juliet and Edward’s little relationship thing or whatever you want to call it. Ever since Juliet saw him, something just seemed off about him. Now Montgomery… I like that guy. Despite that he works for Juliet’s father and is helping him with all these gruesome experiments, I still liked him. I understood that Montgomery was already involved in some sort of fashion and if he would have walked away, it was only going to get worse for him. But I don’t know… I didn’t like that he was still working for her father, but I understood why.

I’m really excited to see what happens in Her Dark Curiosity because I need to see what happens next because I cannot handle that ending!

favorite quotes

“Two hundred six.” I repeated, feeling my cheeks warm. “There are two hundred six bones in the body. I would think, as a medical student, you would know that.” — page 9

.

“My heartbeat faltered. He pulled away, taking a little piece of my heart with him.”- Megan Shepherd, The Madman’s Daughter

.

Challenges This Belongs To:

2014rewind

6 thoughts on “Review: The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd

  1. Great review! And I think the mention of gore and creepiness might have got me interested the most, haha :)

Leave a Reply

