Review: The Last Policeman by Ben H. Winters

the last policemanThe Last Policeman by Ben H. Winters
Series: The Last Policeman #1
Published by: Quirk Books on July 10th 2012
Genre: Mystery, Science Fiction, Pre-Apocalyptic, Adult
Pages: 316
Source: Publisher- Paperback

amazongoodreads

My Rating: 3.5 stars

I received an ARC copy in exchange for an honest review from the publisher. It does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

What’s the point in solving murders if we’re all going to die soon, anyway?

Detective Hank Palace has faced this question ever since asteroid 2011GV1 hovered into view. There’s no chance left. No hope. Just six precious months until impact.

The Last Policeman presents a fascinating portrait of a pre-apocalyptic United States. The economy spirals downward while crops rot in the fields. Churches and synagogues are packed. People all over the world are walking off the job—but not Hank Palace. He’s investigating a death by hanging in a city that sees a dozen suicides every week—except this one feels suspicious, and Palace is the only cop who cares.

The first in a trilogy, The Last Policeman offers a mystery set on the brink of an apocalypse. As Palace’s investigation plays out under the shadow of 2011GV1, we’re confronted by hard questions way beyond “whodunit.” What basis does civilization rest upon? What is life worth? What would any of us do, what would we really do, if our days were numbered?

Earth is about to be struck by a HUGE asteroid which will kill any living thing on the planet. Everyone has heard about the asteroid and they know exactly when it’s going to strike the Earth. Many people think there’s no point in living anymore.

The suicide rate/death rate is increasing fast. Detective Hank Palace is on a suicide case but is convinced it’s something else.

But with the world ending soon, is it worth continuing the investigation if they are all just going to die anyway?

my thoughts 2

I had a lot of fun with this book! I kept thinking of The Walking Dead while reading it. Obviously there’s no zombies in this! But, just the kind of world where pretty much everyone is dead and it’s fight for survival, I just kept thinking of this show while reading. Hank- the main character reminded me a lot of Rick in The Walking Dead. I don’t know why his character came to mind while reading, but just the two worlds are very similar (despite the zombies).

I’ve never really read any adult books, maybe a couple romance books here and there. But I typically read YA and some New Adult, so it was nice to have a completely different view. I thought  I would have trouble understanding the characters because they are a lot older than me- I recently just stopped being a teenager, now 20. But I didn’t actually and that was great!

I liked that despite the world ending from the asteroid coming, Hank didn’t give up the investigation. He continued trying to find clues as to why this person died and how.

I’m really excited to see what happens next!

favorite quotes

“There is little novelty in the detective who cannot solve himself.”– Ben H. Winters, The Last Policeman

.

Leave a Reply

