Review: Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys

between shades of grayBetween Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys
Series: N/A
Published by: Speak on April 3rd 2012
Genre: Historical Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 338
Source: Purchased- Paperback

amazongoodreads

My Rating: 5 stars2

It’s 1941 and fifteen-year-old artist Lina Vilkas is on Stalin’s extermination list. Deported to a prison camp in Siberia, Lina fights for her life, fearless, risking everything to save her family. It’s a long and harrowing journey and it is only their incredible strength, love, and hope that pull Lina and her family through each day. But will love be enough to keep them alive?

In 1941, Lina was deported to a camp in Siberia. Who deported her and her family? Stalin. With war raging on and thousands upon thousands of people being sent to camps, Lina is constantly fighting for her life. Will she loose all hope after being dragged away from her life?

my thoughts 2

This was originally “supposed” to be read in April, but I didn’t read much of anything really in April… So as soon as exams started to come to an end, I immediately began this!

I’m obsessed with learning about this time period-more specifically Hitler and Germany. I know that sounds strange and your probably thinking “umm, Brianna… Is there something wrong with you?” Well, no. I just find this time period and what was going on very interesting. I’m really glad I picked this up though, I haven’t read much if any historical fiction and I’ve been DYING to read The Book Thief for several months now-almost a year probably. I recently watched The Book Thief — yeah I watched it before reading… A friend wanted to watch it and I couldn’t say no. But oh my gosh. The movie was FANTASTIC!

Okay, enough about The Book Thief… This is about Between Shades of Gray!

Ruta Septeys writing is FANTASTIC!!! You can VIVIDLY imagine what was going on around Lina! It was perfection. Everything about this book was honestly perfection, really. I cannot get over how much I absolutely adored this book!!! Such a fantastic book and definitely a must read for anyone! This is such an important time period and it wasn’t too long ago (I say that like I’m like 80 years old when I’m really only 20) but in world time, it really wasn’t that long ago. I seriously ENJOYED this book and will definitely re-read it again and again in the future! FANTASTIC!

favorite quotes

“Have you ever wondered what a human life is worth? That morning, my brother’s was worth a pocket watch.” — page 27

.

“Sometimes there is such beauty in awkwardness.”– Ruta Sepetys, Between Shades of Gray

.

“We’d been trying to touch the sky from the bottom of the ocean.”– Ruta Sepetys, Between Shades of Gray

.

Challenges This Belongs To:

summer of 50 challenge

2 thoughts on “Review: Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys

Leave a Reply

