Review: The Maze Runner by James Dashner

the maze runner ukThe Maze Runner by James Dashner
Series: The Maze Runner #1
Published by: Chicken House in 2011
Genre: Dystopia, Science Fiction, Adventure, Young Adult
Pages: 371
Source: Purchased- UK Paperback

amazongoodreads

My Rating: 4.5 stars

When the doors of the lift crank open, the only thing Thomas remembers is his first name. But he’s not alone. He’s surrounded by boys who welcome him to the Glade – a walled encampment at the centre of a bizarre and terrible stone maze. Like Thomas, the Gladers don’t know why or how they came to be there – or what’s happened to the world outside.

Imagine forgetting everything you know except only your first name. This is what Thomas only remembers and also what others know. They now know they are put to the test to run through a maze before the doors shut at night. Trust me, you don’t want to be stuck there at night. Thankfully with the doors shut at night, your protected from what’s behind those doors. But, are you really?

my thoughts 2

I hosted a read-a-long for this on Goodreads/Instagram because this is part of my “Summer of 50 Challenge”. I have so so many books I need to get out of the way and that I can finally say “hey I have that book and I’ve READ it”. I’ve been wanting to start this trilogy for so long now and I’m really glad I decided to host these read-a-longs, because if I didn’t, I don’t think I would have started it when I did. We (I mean the people who joined and myself) read this in 4 days. It was a lot to read within a day, but I’m on summer break so I made it work. :)

Anyway, beside the point! I absolutely loved the creepiness factor and not knowing WHAT THE HECK was going on!! My sister has already finished this trilogy so I was constantly talking to her like “WHAT THE HECK IS GOING ON!?!?!”. There are so many twists and turns and unexpected events that totally caught me off guard! The only reason I didn’t give this a 5/5 stars is probably because of something (that I will not mention) that happened in the end that really tugged on my feelings a little bit.

I loved the entire concept of this book! The entire time I kept saying, how is this dystopian?! I’m still trying to figure that out, I’ve asked my sister, she says I just have to wait. It’s killing me not knowing what the heck is going on and why this is considered dystopian! Guess I’ll have to continue on and find out for myself! But I promise, it’s worth the read! But don’t read if you get scared easily, because there are definitely some scary things that happen-also if you get squeamish about blood and stuff, then I’d definitely stay away. I was completely un-phased by all that gore and stuff.

CAN’T WAIT TO CONTINUE ON AND FIGURE OUT WHAT WILL HAPPEN!!!

favorite quotes

“These bad boys’re what we call Runnie-undies. Keeps you, um, nice and comfy.”

“Nice and comfy?”

“Yeah, ya know. Your–”

“Yeah, I got it.” — page 220

.

“Do you think I have parents? Real parents?”

Thomas laughed, mostly to push away the sudden surge of sadness that statement caused. “Of course you do, shank. You need me to explain the birds and bees?”– page 191

.

“Yeah, call him leader all you want. Maybe we should call him El Presidente. Nah, nah — Admiral Alby. There you go.” — page 79

.

Challenges This Belongs To:

summer of 50 challenge DCR Banner

5 thoughts on “Review: The Maze Runner by James Dashner

  1. I couldn’t get a hold of a copy of this one in time but I’m happy that you enjoyed it! I didn’t know it had such an action-y creepy feel to it :) Plus twists? This one sounds great! Although now I’m really curious about what changed your mind at the end ;)

  2. Pingback: Waiting on Wednesday (#51): The Prey by Tom Isbell - Brianna's Bookish ConfessionsBrianna's Bookish Confessions

Leave a Reply

