Review: Cinder by Marissa Meyer

cinderCinder by Marissa Meyer
Series: Lunar Chronicles #1
Published by: Feiwel & Friends on January 3rd 2012
Genre: Fantasy, Science Fiction, Dystopia, Young Adult
Pages: 387
Source: Purchased- Hardcover

amazongoodreads

My Rating: 4.5 stars

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

Cinder, whom is a very talented mechanic also happens to be a cyborg. Adopted to her evil stepmother, Cinder is constantly doing what Adri tells her to do. One day Prince Kai comes in contact with Cinder and her entire life is flipped. Many things happen, some good and a lot of shocking events.

my thoughts 2

The ONLY problem I had with this was the world and character building in the beginning. I had a hard time understanding everything for a while. But nonetheless, I absolutely LOVED this book! I LOVE re-tellings and Cinderella is definitely my favorite Disney Princess. :)

I loved the entire concept behind the story and how Marissa Meyer took the original Cinderella and made it into what this book is about. HOLY COW! IT WAS AMAZING!!! I’m beyond excited to see what happens next!

Had I known before I started the read-a-long that there was a prequel, I would have read it before. Someone had mentioned that it gave explanations for Cinder and more character development which is something I was craving in the beginning.

My 2 favorite characters were Iko and Peony! Those 2 were so cute and I loved both of them to death!

I’m not really sure what to put in this review quite honestly, I feel like everyone has mostly already caught up with this series!

But I did not like Queen Levana at all… I kind of had an idea as to what Disney character she played in this and I got it right! Ohh, and Adri… Hate that lady as well. I just can’t get over how much I really enjoyed this book guys. If you have yet to start, PLEASE do so! I’m sure you’ve heard from MANY other people, but this series (so far) is amazing and I’m sure Scarlet and Cress are just as good (if not better)!

favorite quotes

“I don’t know. I don’t actually remember anything from before the surgery.”

His eyebrows rose, his blue eyes sucking in all the light of the room. “The cybernetic opetation?”

“No, the sex change.”

The doctor’s smile faltered.

“I’m joking.”– page 100

.

“We all have our weaknesses.”

“I know,” said Iko. “Mine is shoes.”– page 193

.

“Vanity is a factor, but it is more a question of control. It is easier to trick others into perceiving you as beautiful if you can convince yourself you are beautiful. But mirrors have an uncanny way of telling the truth.”– Marissa Meyer, Cinder

.

Challenges This Belongs To:

summer of 50 challenge

6 thoughts on “Review: Cinder by Marissa Meyer

  1. So glad you enjoyed this one! Trust me when I say the books just get better and better as you go through the series, great review and quotes, the first one was one of my favourites too :)

  2. If you liked this one you should definitely read Scarlet soon because I thought it was better than Cinder! But they were both super fantastic and such awesome retellings! I love that you started a read-a-long on goodreads I always love joining in on read-a-longs! Your blog is cool and I love your layout. I am nominating you for the Liebster Award! You can find more information about it on my blog and in my post here:http://takingstepsintoanotherworld.wordpress.com/2014/05/25/the-liebster-award-round-2/ :)

  3. Yay! So glad you enjoyed this Brianna! I read half of this book and then had to put it down as I just couldn’t get into it. :( However, I think I’m going to have to pick it up again soon as EVERYONE seems to love it! :)

Leave a Reply

