Review: The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han

the summer i turned prettyThe Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han
Series: Summer #1
Published by: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers on May 5th 2009
Genre: Contemporary, Romance, Chick Lit, Young Adult
Pages: 276
Source: Purchased- Paperback

amazongoodreads

My Rating: 5 stars2

Some summers are just destined to be pretty.

When each summer begins, Belly leaves her school life behind and escapes to Cousins Beach, the place she has spent every summer of her life. Not only does the beach house mean home away from home, but her favorite people are there: Susannah, her mother’s best friend, and her sons, Conrad and Jeremiah. Belly has been chasing Conrad for as long as she can remember, and more than anything, she hopes this summer will be different. Despite distractions from a new guy named Cam and lingering looks from Conrad’s brother, Jeremiah, Belly’s heart belongs to Conrad. Will he offer his to her? Will this be the summer that changes everything?

Every summer Belly, her brother, Steven, and their mom go to Cousins Beach. Belly has been going there ever since she can remember. But it’s not just those 3 that are there. Brothers, Conrad and Jeremiah are there with their mom as well. Belly has had a massive crush on Conrad ever since they started going to Cousins, but Conrad just doesn’t seem to notice her. Tired of trying to get him to notice her, she meets Cam one day.

my thoughts 2

I LOVED THIS BOOK SO SO MUCH! I bought this book last year before summer ended, but didn’t get the chance to read it. So I saved it until this summer. AND OH MY GOSH was this not the perfect summer read!? I can’t get over how much I absolutely adored this book! Read this book in 1 day, could not put it down. Perfect book to start off the summer!!

At times though I found Belly to be a little annoying. Even though she is 16 now, it seems like she’s still stuck with her 11 year old self and can’t let go of it.

I really enjoyed how it skipped between the present summer and past summers. I didn’t like Conrad. Something was really off about him. He just seemed like a shell in a body. He didn’t really interact much with the characters or show any interest at all. I did like Jeremiah though, he seems like a complete sweetheart and really does try hard.

I’m definitely continuing on (seeing as while I’m writing this post, I’m on the 3rd book right now). :)

favorite quotes

“Sometimes it’s like people are a million times more beautiful to you in your mind. It’s like you see them through a special lens—but maybe if it’s how you see them,that’s how they really are.It’s like the whole tree falling in the forest thing.” — page 47

.

“Moments, when lost, can’t be found again. They’re just gone.”– Jenny Jan, The Summer I Turned Pretty

.

“Best friends are important. They’re the closest thing to a sister you’ll ever have.” — Jenny Jan, The Summer I Turned Pretty

.

Challenges This Belongs To:

summer of 50 challenge

6 thoughts on “Review: The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han

Leave a Reply

