Review & Blog Tour: Branded by Abi Ketner and Missy Kalicicki

Brandedbranded 2Branded by Abi Ketner and Missy Kalicicki
Series: Sinners #1
Published by: Abi and Missy Books on February 18th 2014
Genre: Dystopia, Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 314
Source: ARC copy from Authors

amazongoodreads

My Rating: 5 stars2

all time favorite

I received an ARC copy in exchange for an honest review from the authors. It does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Fifty years ago the Commander came into power and murdered all who opposed him. In his warped mind, the seven deadly sins were the downfall of society. He created the Hole where sinners are branded according to their sins and might survive a few years. At best.
Now LUST wraps around my neck like blue fingers strangling me. I’ve been accused of a crime I didn’t commit and now the Hole is my new home.

Darkness. Death. Violence. Pain.

Now every day is a fight for survival. But I won’t die. I won’t let them win.

The Hole can’t keep me. The Hole can’t break me.
I am more than my brand. I’m a fighter.
My name is Lexi Hamilton, and this is my story.

Surrounding the seven deadly sins, the Commander believed this what was causing the downfall of the country. Each person who commits one of the seven deadly sins is branded on their neck with a specific color that correlates with that sin. Lexi Hamilton is branded blue which stands for lust. Now in the Hole, Lexi is fighting for her life everyday.

my thoughts 2

It’s been a couple days now since I’ve finished this book and I’m still obsessing over this world. I cannot stop thinking about Lexi and all the characters and the world. I didn’t realize I would love the book THIS much. I absolutely LOVED it to pieces!!

I didn’t have any issues once so ever with this book, I absolutely LOVED it! It had everything you could ask for in a book; romance, great characters, death, love, action, an amazing dog, EVERYTHING. Everything about this book was perfection.

The dog, Zeus who is Cole’s dog; I ADORED THAT DOG. I need that dog in my life! He was such a sweet dog and extremely protective! Anytime he thought something was trying to attack Lexi or Cole, he DESTROYED said object. I busted out laughing every time Zeus did this. Even at times when the book got really sad, Lexi would mention Zeus and my mood would be lifted! I LOVE THAT DOG!

I’m adding Cole to my list of swoon-worthy boyfriends. That boy was just… Wow. Can’t get over him. Probably never will honestly. I loved Cole, I didn’t think I would love him as much as I did. I thought he was just Lexi’s guard and nothing else, nope. Totally wrong. Loved him!

I really enjoyed this world! It was so different from previous dystopian worlds I’ve read so far and probably one of my favorites. I liked having the world based upon the seven deadly sins. I haven’t seen any books yet that are surrounded by those. It was very interesting to see characters who were branded based upon a certain sin and how they reacted while in the Hole.

I can talk about this book all day and probably never run out of good things to say about this book! I highly recommend this book to pretty much anyone!

favorite quotes

“”What was that?” I asked Zeus. It happens again but louder this time. Zeus runs into my room as a foul odor drifts by. “Was that a fart?” I laugh. “Oh my word, I can’t believe you’re afraid of your own fart.” I’m laughing so hard I snort.” — Abi Ketner and Missy Kalicicki, Branded

.

“Okay, I can handle this. Then he drops his shirt. Then again, maybe not.” — Abi Ketner and Missy Kalicicki, Branded

.

“You’re like my magnet. You pull me in. No matter how hard I pull away… your force is stronger. And when I get too close, it takes everything I have to remain at a safe distance.” — Abi Ketner and Missy Kalicicki, Branded

.

“I mean, I knew you were getting weak around her, but holy balls! You love her… Wow!” — Abi Ketner and Missy Kalicicki, Branded

Leave a Reply

