Review: Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry

pushing the limitsPushing the Limits by Katie McGarry
Series: Pushing the Limits #1
Published by: Harlequin Teen on July 31st 2012
Genre: Contemporary, Contemporary Romance, Realistic Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 392 (Hardcover)
Source: Purchased- Hardcover

amazongoodreads

My Rating: 5 stars2all time favorite

So wrong for each other …and yet so right.

No one knows what happened the night Echo Emerson went from popular girl with jock boyfriend to gossiped-about outsider with “freaky” scars on her arms. Even Echo can’t remember the whole truth of that horrible night. All she knows is that she wants everything to go back to normal.

But when Noah Hutchins, the smoking-hot, girl-using loner in the black leather jacket, explodes into her life with his tough attitude and surprising understanding, Echo’s world shifts in ways she could never have imagined. They should have nothing in common. And with the secrets they both keep, being together is pretty much impossible.

Yet the crazy attraction between them refuses to go away. And Echo has to ask herself just how far they can push the limits and what she’ll risk for the one guy who might teach her how to love again.

Echo used to be the popular girl in school with the jock boyfriend until something happened to her. But she can’t remember anything that happened, she just has scars on her arm to remind her of a day that she can’t remember.

Noah isn’t the popular guy in school. He’s the guy known for one-night stands and never committing to a relationship.

Both having secrets, they are joined together.

my thoughts 2

I absolutely loved this book! I loved all the drama and all the situations that occurred while reading this. I hosted a read-a-long for this (I’m hosting over 30 read-a-longs this summer) and I kept wanting to read ahead and see what was going to happen next. I had a very hard time just wanting to skip ahead and luckily I didn’t, I stayed with the schedule. :)

This reminded me a lot of Perfect Chemistry. Both coming from really messed up families and crazy situations but come together when they least expected it. As usual (not a spoiler), they fell in love. I wish there was a little more to the ending, because it kind of leaves you wanting more of their relationship and what happens. However, I am happy with the ending and how things turned out! I can’t believe I waited this long to read this amazing book. As well as not having the next 3 books and have read those! Hopefully I will pick up the next 3 very soon!

I absolutely loved this book! This definitely wasn’t a light and fluffy contemporary, there was a lot of “dark” parts to this.

I loved how their relationship developed and some of the characters who were in this book! I loved how determined Noah was in this and how much he wanted his brothers back. He was willing to do anything to get them back. He’s definitely book boyfriend material and a keeper! :)

favorite quotes

“Wrapping my arms around her, I walked her backward into the brick. “Tell me you chose me, Echo.”
She licked her lips. Those green eyes smoldered, calling me to her. “I chose you.”– page 195

.

“I gazed into her beautiful green eyes and her fear melted. A shy smile tugged at her lips and at my heart. Fuck me and the rest of the world, I was in love.”– page 219

.

“The worst type of crying wasn’t the kind everyone could see–the wailing on street corners, the tearing at clothes. No, the worst kind happened when your soul wept and no matter what you did, there was no way to comfort it. A section withered and became a scar on the part of your soul that survived. For people like me and Echo, our souls contained more scar tissue than life.”– page 278

.

Challenges This Belongs To:

summer of 50 challenge

3 thoughts on “Review: Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry

  1. I was a little late to the read along but I managed to finish this & like everyone else Love Noah. Can add him to the list of Book Boyfriends. I noticed all your quotes are from Noah. It makes me wonder, because we are female, are we more likely to love the male ‘heart melting’ quotes than the same feelings coming from female characters?

    • Good question! I didn’t realize that all the quotes are from him. That is REALLY weird… Maybe because we are girls so we know how girls are around boys so if guys say something like Noah did, we’d freak out? :)

Leave a Reply

