Review: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

the fault in our starsThe Fault in Our Stars by John Green
Series: N/A
Published by: Dutton Books on January 10th 2012
Genre: Contemporary, Contemporary Romance, Realistic Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 313 (Hardcover)
Source: Purchased- Hardcover

amazongoodreads

My Rating: 5 stars2all time favorite

Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

my thoughts 2

I can’t believe it took me this long to read this amazing book. Well, partly because of how sad it was and I already knew how it was going to end (got spoiled). But nonetheless, I absolutely loved this book to pieces and finished it the day before the movie came out. Bawled my eyes out while reading (which was hard not to completely drown in my tears, I was babysitting and didn’t want to wake the baby). I bawled again (even harder) while watching the movie. I’m so glad I hosted a read-a-long to this book, because knowing myself, I would have pushed it off even more just because of how sad this book is. I usually don’t make myself read sad books. I’m a very emotional person so it doesn’t take much for tears to start forming in my eyes. I’m such a baby, but oh well.

I just adored John Green’s writing style and how easy it was to fall into Hazel’s head and completely imagine what was going on. Even while watching the movie, it felt as if it was a reality TV show or something so real! I adore Hazel and Augustus’ relationship. Everything about this book honestly was amazing. I knew going into the book that I would absolutely adore it, no question. I knew that. It was the tears and sadness that kept pushing me away from reading. I surprisingly didn’t have a hard time picking up another book, which I thought was going to cause a problem after reading. Possibly cause a reading slump, but no, thankfully I had no problems picking up another book!

I definitely cannot wait to read more of John Green’s books! His writing style is definitely amazing and so perfect, and I’m hoping that his others will be just as good! I have never marked a book this much in my life (I use post-it flags to mark favorite places). I have maybe around 25+ flags in the book! So with that said, there will be A LOT of favorite quotes!

favorite quotes

“Maybe ‘okay‘ will be our ‘always’.”– page 73

.

“Me: “Touch the cave wall.”
Computer: “You touch the cave wall. It is moist.”
Isaac: “Lick the cave wall.”
Computer: “I do not understand. Repeat?”
Me: “Hump the moist cave wall.”
Computer: “You attempt to jump. You hit your head.”
Isaac: “Not jump. HUMP.”
Computer: “I don’t understand.”
Isaac: “Dude, I’ve been alone in the dark in this cave for weeks and I need some relief. HUMP THE CAVE WALL.”
Computer: “You attempt to ju-”
Me: “Thrust pelvis against the cave wall.”
Computer: “I do not-”
Isaac: “Make sweet love to the cave.”
Computer: “I do not-”– page 280

.

“Headline?” he asked.
“‘Swing Set Needs Home,'” I said.
“‘Desperately Lonely Swing Set Needs Loving Home,'” he said.
“‘Lonely, Vaguely Pedophilic Swing Set Seeks the Butts of Children,'” I said.”– page 123

.

“I’m in love with you,” he said quietly.

“Augustus,” I said.

“I am,” he said. He was staring at me, and I could see the corners of his eyes crinkling. “I’m in love with you, and I’m not in the business of denying myself the simple pleasure of saying true things. I’m in love with you, and I know that love is just a shout into the void, and that oblivion is inevitable, and that we’re all doomed and that there will come a day when all our labor has been returned to dust, and I know the sun will swallow the only earth we’ll ever have, and I am in love with you.”– page 153

.

“Some infinities are bigger than other infinities.”– John Green, The Fault in Our Stars

.

Challenges This Belongs To:

summer of 50 challenge

7 thoughts on “Review: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

  1. I don’t remember much about the book (I gave it 3 stars), but I recently watched the movie and OH MY THE TEARS CAME FLOWING OUT. Yeah, I cried so much while my friends laughed at me since they’ve never seen me cry before. >_< So glad you liked this, Brianna!

Leave a Reply

