Review: Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

under the never skyUnder the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi
Series: Under the Never Sky #1
Published by: HarperCollins on January 3rd 2012
Genre: Science Fiction, Dystopia, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 374 (Hardcover)
Source: Purchased- Hardcover

amazongoodreads

My Rating: 4 stars2

Since she’d been on the outside, she’d survived an Aether storm, she’d had a knife held to her throat, and she’d seen men murdered.

This was worse.

Exiled from her home, the enclosed city of Reverie, Aria knows her chances of surviving in the outer wasteland–known as The Death Shop–are slim. If the cannibals don’t get her, the violent, electrified energy storms will. She’s been taught that the very air she breathes can kill her. Then Aria meets an Outsider named Perry. He’s wild–a savage–and her only hope of staying alive.

A hunter for his tribe in a merciless landscape, Perry views Aria as sheltered and fragile–everything he would expect from a Dweller. But he needs Aria’s help too; she alone holds the key to his redemption. Opposites in nearly every way, Aria and Perry must accept each other to survive. Their unlikely alliance forges a bond that will determine the fate of all who live under the never sky.

my thoughts 2

The only problem I had while reading this book was the beginning. I had a very hard time with the world building and how to exactly envision this world. It wasn’t until after the first 1/3rd of the book and contacting a friend about the world, that I started to understand everything that was going on.

This is a unique take on a dystopian world. Basically there are these pods which are like little protective bubbles with a certain amount of people enclosed inside. The world has been plagued with Aether, which is like a radioactive rain. When these Aether storms come dangerous storms. So to be protected from these dangerous storms, the government created the pods. Since these people are stuck inside the pods and aren’t allowed to exit, the government created eyepieces that can create different realms. Everything around you will change to desired realm, but never actually leave the pod. But since only a selected amount of people can fit inside a pod, the rest are cast out around it and fight for survival. Because of this, people have gone back to “old” ways and formed tribes.

Aria has lived in a pod her entire life until something happens that casts her outside of it. Having no clue or how to survive, she meets Perry (or Peregrine) who has lived outside his entire life. Just wanting to go back to the pod, she and Perry make a deal to each other. Perry helps her get back to the pod and she helps him find Talon-his nephew. But with all these Aether storms and cannibalistic tribes, can they help each other out without getting killed?

I have been hearing such amazing things about this trilogy and a lot of people say this is one of their top favorites! I was a little nervous when beginning the book because of my confusion. Maybe it was because I read around 3 books at a time and I was just getting myself confused. Usually I do pretty well being able to tell exactly what happens in what book without getting confused. Maybe that’s why I had a hard time in the beginning, not sure. Overall, I really did enjoy this book! I definitely loved the concept of this world.

I keep hearing about Perry and Roar (Perry’s best friend) as being Aria’s love interests? I may be wrong. I really like Perry though. I hope this doesn’t turn into a typical love triangle. Those bother me to no ends. Hopefully it’s one I can deal with. Maybe Roarr is just another important character? Who knows? I will have to find out myself!

I honestly couldn’t tell you who my favorite character is- maybe Roar just because of his personality and the things that come out of his mouth. I do like the characters, but none really “stick” out at me as a favorite. But if I had to choose, it would probably be Roar.

Can’t wait to continue on!

favorite quotes

“She looked up. “A world of nevers under a never sky.”
She fit in well then, he thought. A girl who never shut up.”– page 124-25

.

“People can be cruelest to those they love.”– Veronica Rossi, Under the Never Sky

.

“There are other things I’d rather do when I’m alone with you.”
Time to step off the edge. “Then do them.”– page 297

.

Challenges This Belongs To:

summer of 50 challenge DCR Banner

4 thoughts on “Review: Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

  1. so glad you liked this book, I know exactly what you mean about being nervous reading a book that you’ve heard are a lot of peoples favourites. At the end of the day, not everyone can like all the same books, but there are some like this one, that the majority can agree on.

    Roar is one of my favourite characters too, as the story’s go on its Perry, hands down. But from the first book he was one of the characters that really stood out in my mind.

    Great review and can no wait to hear your thoughts on the next books :)

  2. I felt the same way about the beginning of this book; but once I got past all that, the story just kind of took off from there. Anyway, I’m really glad you liked it. :)

Leave a Reply

