My Reading Stack (#1)

my reading stackI’m starting a new weekly (hopefully) post  about what I’ll be reading for the next week. Hopefully I’ll stick to this schedule!

city of heavenly fireSo first off- I’m STILL reading City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare… I’m writing this post on Saturday and will be posted tomorrow (Sunday) and I’m hoping to get a pretty big chunk of it read. I’m about 250 pages in, but since I’ve been hosting all these read-a-longs, I haven’t had really any time to pick it up. Plus, this book is MASSIVE and it’s very hard to hold and hold it comfortably. I can’t hold it like a normal book without it – 5 minutes later- hurting my arms. Plus I don’t want to break the binding trying to hold the book open! I am enjoying it so far. I love that it’s told from different perspectives and you get to see more characters and more of what’s going on instead of focusing on just one character and what they see around them! I hope to get this finished very soon! PLEASE NO SPOILERS!!!!!!!

Tthe divinershe next book I am reading is The Diviners by Libba Bray. This is a book that I’m hosting a read-a-long to, we are about 200 pages in and I’m really loving Libba’s writing style and the time period it is set in. The 1920’s is definitely one of my favorite time periods! I know that this is a scary book, so I’ve been reading it in the morning and reading it first before any other book. That way if something creepy does happen, I’ll have another book and time to get away from it. I LOVE supernatural/paranormal, so I can handle a lot of it. Being a massive fan of Supernatural (the TV show) I’m sure that this is probably similar in scariness (is that a real word? it is NOW!).

attachmentsToday (even though when I’m writing the post it’s the 14th and not the 15th), I’m starting Attachments by Rainbow Rowell. This is another read-a-long I’m hosting. If you missed my post about the read-a-longs, click here. Over the course of the summer, I’m hosting over 30 read-a-longs and this month I’m hosting 11. This will definitely be my busy reading month and the month with the most read-a-longs. I think July only has 10 of them.

But anyway, I’ve only read Fangirl by her and absolutely ADORED it. I’ve been hearing AMAZING things about her writing and all of her books. I own all 3 of her books, and super excited about Landline as well. I know I’m going to love this book, so I have nothing to be worried about.

 

 

 

Books I finished this week:

under the never sky the edge of never what i thought was true

My thoughts on these 3? My favorite from these 3 was definitely by far The Edge of Never by J.A. Redmerski. I have been meaning to read that book for such a long time! When I first started out with New Adult I asked some people what they would recommend to start with- this being one of those and the other, Slammed by Colleen Hoover. I own Slammed, but of course, have not read it. I absolutely ADORED The Edge of Never and I can’t believe it took me this long to read it! I will talk more about my thoughts on the book when the review is posted (I’m behind on reviews BTW).

My least favorite was definitely What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick. I won’t go too much into what I thought because that will all be in my review. I’ve been hearing a lot of praise towards her first book, My Life Next Door and when I heard this was coming out and finding it at Half Price Books for only $9, I had to get it! I thought I would love it, but I didn’t. I liked it. Didn’t love it. I had a VERY hard time connecting with the characters and the plot was just bleh. Nothing exciting happened and I almost marked it as DNF. I’ve never marked a book as DNF because I think it’s worth reading until the end to see if I like the ending. Also so I can have a complete review and thoughts over the entire book, not just what I read. I know My Life Next Door is amazing, so I have faith in that book. Just a little disappointed in this one. :(

I loved Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi. Wasn’t a favorite, but very much enjoyed it! I’ve already posted my review for this. But, the only problem I had while reading was the world development in the beginning. I had a very difficult time envisioning this world and how it exactly worked.

Books I plan to start this week:

sweet reckoning Across-the-Universe_Beth-Revis the program pawn

So that is it for this week’s post! I will talk to you guys next Sunday about what I will be reading next!

What are you reading? What are your plans for the week?

 

 

Leave a Reply

