Review: What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick

what i thought was trueWhat I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick
Series: N/A
Published by: Dial Books for Young Readers on April 15th 2014
Genre: Contemporary, Romance, Realistic Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 416 (Hardcover)
Source: Purchased- Hardcover

amazongoodreads

My Rating: 2.5 stars

From the author of My Life Next Door comes a swoony summertime romance full of expectation and regret, humor and hard questions.

Gwen Castle’s Biggest Mistake Ever, Cassidy Somers, is slumming it as a yard boy on her Nantucket-esque island this summer. He’s a rich kid from across the bridge in Stony Bay, and she hails from a family of fishermen and housecleaners who keep the island’s summer people happy. Gwen worries a life of cleaning houses will be her fate too, but just when it looks like she’ll never escape her past—or the island—Gwen’s dad gives her some shocking advice. Sparks fly and secret histories unspool as Gwen spends a gorgeous, restless summer struggling to resolve what she thought was true—about the place she lives, the people she loves, and even herself—with what really is.

A magnetic, push-me-pull-me romance with depth, this is for fans of Sarah Dessen, Jenny Han, and Deb Caletti.

my thoughts 2

I was a little disappointed in this book. I had really high expectations after hearing praise about her first book, My Life Next Door (which I own, but haven’t read). I found this at a book store for half off and bought it and started it that day.

Gwen lives on an island where everyone knows everything about everybody. Gwen notices rich, yard boy Cassidy who is from across the bridge. Her family is known for cleaning houses. But with her past always following her, she tries to stay away from the boy she’s always had a crush on.

I had so many problems with this book, but first let me mention what I did like about this.

I really liked the fact that our main character, Gwen was Portuguese. I’m not full blood Portuguese, but it does run on my mom’s side of the family so I have a tiny sliver of it in me. I thought it was really interesting to have a character with that kind of background and get to see more about the foods and everything.

I also liked Gwen’s little brother, Em. I thought he was absolutely adorable and I enjoyed having his character in the book.

I liked how it was set during the summer time and it was great to help set the mood for summer, however my overall feelings for this doesn’t say so which I will get more into in just a bit.

I also really enjoyed the end scene, it wouldn’t really spoil much, but I don’t want to say anything about it.

Now for my problems about this. First off my biggest set back was the dialogue. Maybe it was just my copy, but I found a couple typos in the book. I know that’s not a big deal, but as soon as I found a typo, I find this:

“No problem.”

“?”

“—“

How is “?” and “–” spoken language?? I don’t understand why this is spoken. I mean unless you actually say “question mark?” but who says that??

Another major problem I had was the main character, Gwen. She was just very whiny and annoying to me. Maybe I just wasn’t in the mood with this book or what, but I just did not like her character at all. She always talked down to herself and was always saying negative stuff. Just the way she presented herself and talked about herself, just annoyed me. I don’t have a problem with what she did-she’s a teenager and that’s how it’s supposed to happen in the real world. Ohh, I’m talking about the thing YA shies away from- SEX! Yes, I said it!!! SEX!! Wait, what?! Gwen was having sex!? What?! That’s unheard of! :) ( I may make a discussion topic about this in the future if anyone is interested).

I also could not connect with the characters at all. I tried really hard to imagine what these characters looked like and tried playing it out in my head-which I could do sometimes. But maybe it’s because of my feelings towards Gwen, that kind of affected how I saw the other characters.

I overall liked the book, probably wouldn’t recommend this to many people. Some people have liked it, and some haven’t. If you liked her first one, maybe give this a shot!

favorite quotes

“I finally get that sometimes we hold on to something – a person, a resentment, a regret, an idea of who we are – because we don’t know what to reach for next. That what we’ve done before is what we have to do again. That there are only re-dos and no do-overs. And maybe … maybe I know better than that.”– page 377

.

“That what you’ve always had doesn’t mean that’s what you’ll always get. That what you’ve always wanted isn’t what you’ll always want.”– Huntley Fitzpatrick, What I Thought Was True

.

Challenges This Belongs To:

summer of 50 challenge

3 thoughts on “Review: What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick

  1. Everyone didn’t have a positive reaction to this book as well. Part of the problem was the hype brought on by how wonderful the author’s book was. So going into her sophomore offering, a lot of expectations have been dashed to smithereens. Oh well.

    Sorry it didn’t work out so well for you.

  2. Pingback: Review: My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick | Brianna's Bookish Confessions

Leave a Reply

