Review: Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

attachmentsAttachments by Rainbow Rowell
Series: N/A
First Published by: Dutton Adult on April 14th 2011
Genre: Romance, Chick Lit, Contemporary, Adult
Pages: 323 (Paperback)
Source: Purchased- Paperback

amazongoodreads

My Rating: 3 stars

“Hi, I’m the guy who reads your e-mail, and also, I love you . . . ”

From the award-winning author of Eleanor & Park, Fangirl, and Landline comes a hilarious and heartfelt novel about love in the workplace.

Beth Fremont and Jennifer Scribner-Snyder know that somebody is monitoring their work e-mail. (Everybody in the newsroom knows. It’s company policy.) But they can’t quite bring themselves to take it seriously. They go on sending each other endless and endlessly hilarious e-mails, discussing every aspect of their personal lives.

Meanwhile, Lincoln O’Neill can’t believe this is his job now- reading other people’s e-mail. When he applied to be “internet security officer,” he pictured himself building firewalls and crushing hackers- not writing up a report every time a sports reporter forwards a dirty joke.

When Lincoln comes across Beth’s and Jennifer’s messages, he knows he should turn them in. But he can’t help being entertained-and captivated-by their stories.

By the time Lincoln realizes he’s falling for Beth, it’s way too late to introduce himself.
What would he say . . . ?

my thoughts 2

I was so beyond excited to get my hands on this book and sadly I was a little disappointed. I absolutely adored Fangirl, one of my all-time favorite books. So I had very high expectations not only just reading Fangirl, but hearing amazing things about her other books from other readers. I really liked the ending, but everything leading up was a disappointment.

Obviously I still liked the book. It was just the pacing and the life that Lincoln-the technician reading over the 2 girls’ conversations- lead. Being a 28 year old, still living at home with his momma, no future plans for a wife, anything. This was my biggest setback while reading. It got to one point that I just wanted to put it down. Thankfully that I hosted a read along to this book and had to follow the schedule (but we won’t mention I fell behind). ;)

As I’ve said, the ending was my favorite thing. I did enjoy Beth and Jennifer’s conversations- they were very entertaining. But having no actual personal communication between the two, I had a hard time connecting with them, well all characters really. But then again, I am only 20 and they are in their late 20’s and a LOT happens in that time period that I haven’t experienced yet, so that could be a reason as to why I couldn’t connect.

I am however really looking forward to Landline, her newest adult coming out fairly soon. The plot and overall summary sounds a lot more interesting than what this book explained. So I have faith, as well as her other YA- Eleanor and Park.

favorite quotes

“Why should every pregnant woman be expected to read the same book? Or any book? Being pregnant isn’t that complicated. What to Expect When You’re Expecting shouldn’t be a book. It should be a Post-it: ‘Take your vitamins. Don’t drink vodka. Get used to empire waistlines.”– page 175

.

“Every woman wants a man who’ll fall in love with her soul as well as her body.”– Rainbow Rowell, Attachments

.

Challenges This Belongs To:

summer of 50 challenge

6 thoughts on “Review: Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

  1. I haven’t read anything by Rowell – I’m hesitant. I’ve heard a lot of mixed reviews about all her work and I’m starting to fear that I won’t really enjoy her work. Not sure where to start if I do pick up something of hers.

  2. I read this book way before Fangirl and Eleanor & Park, and loved it so much. I still am a huge fan of it and Rowell’s one of those writers I’d read anything by. It sucks that you didn’t really like this one, but I think I understand why it’s not very easy to get into. For me, it was about Beth and Jennifer’s friendship and e-mails, honestly. The banter between those two flowed so easily and so freshly it seemed genuine. Lincoln, I was a little hesitant with but nonetheless loved.

Leave a Reply

