Review: The Diviners by Libba Bray

 

the divinersThe Diviners by Libba Bray
Series: The Diviners #1
First Published by: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers on September 18th 2012
Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy, Paranormal, Young Adult
Pages: 578 (Hardcover)
Source: Purchased- Hardcover

 

amazongoodreads

 

My Rating: 4 stars2

 

Evie O’Neill has been exiled from her boring old hometown and shipped off to the bustling streets of New York City—and she is pos-i-tute-ly ecstatic. It’s 1926, and New York is filled with speakeasies, Ziegfeld girls, and rakish pickpockets. The only catch is that she has to live with her uncle Will and his unhealthy obsession with the occult.

Evie worries he’ll discover her darkest secret: a supernatural power that has only brought her trouble so far. But when the police find a murdered girl branded with a cryptic symbol and Will is called to the scene, Evie realizes her gift could help catch a serial killer.

As Evie jumps headlong into a dance with a murderer, other stories unfold in the city that never sleeps. A young man named Memphis is caught between two worlds. A chorus girl named Theta is running from her past. A student named Jericho hides a shocking secret. And unknown to all, something dark and evil has awakened.

my thoughts 2

I was very intimidated by this book. Have been since I heard of the book. I’ve been so excited to get my hands on this and read it. I have heard anything things and many saw “don’t read this at night”. I’m such a chicken that I only read it in the morning. Honestly, there was only a couple spots in this MASSIVE book that was worth not reading at night. Even then it was maybe 50 maximum of the entire books that was really scary. But even then, not too scary. I’m a big fan of paranormal- can’t get enough.

I honestly don’t the I had a problem with this book at all. I know my rating says otherwise, but it wasn’t something worth going fangirl over. VERY good book, recommend to almost anyone. Just not my favorite.

I really loved how Libba Bray’s writing style shaped the story. Something about it was just absolutely amazing. Her writing is mesmerizing and it kept me interested the entire time. Libba Bray is definitely a gifted author.

I really liked the time period-1920’s. That’s definitely one of my favorite time periods. The flappers, the bob hair cut, Great Gatsby, just the entire lifestyle and how people lived during this time period. I’m definitely glad I got this book done and read. I’m kicking myself- like I normally do- for not reading this sooner.

I’m really excited to see what happens next in the second book!

favorite quotes

“Life don’t come to you, Memphis. You gotta take it. We have to take it. Because ain’t nobody handing it to us.” — page 131

.

Challenges This Belongs To:

summer of 50 challenge 

2 thoughts on “Review: The Diviners by Libba Bray

  1. I’ve been meaning to read this one for such a long time but I’m really intimidated. I’m glad it’s not as scary as everyone was saying because I absolutely HATE scary things. Great review, and I’ll definitely move this up on my TBR now. :)

Leave a Reply

