Review: Across the Universe by Beth Revis

Across-the-Universe_Beth-RevisAcross the Universe by Beth Revis
Series: Across the Universe #1
First Published by: Razorbill on January 11th 2011
Genre: Science Fiction, Dystopia, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 398 (Hardcover)
Source: Purchased- Hardcover

amazongoodreads

My Rating: 4.5 stars

A love out of time. A spaceship built of secrets and murder.

Seventeen-year-old Amy joins her parents as frozen cargo aboard the vast spaceship Godspeed and expects to awaken on a new planet, three hundred years in the future. Never could she have known that her frozen slumber would come to an end fifty years too soon and that she would be thrust into the brave new world of a spaceship that lives by its own rules.

Amy quickly realizes that her awakening was no mere computer malfunction. Someone – one of the few thousand inhabitants of the spaceship – tried to kill her. And if Amy doesn’t do something soon, her parents will be next.

Now Amy must race to unlock Godspeed’s hidden secrets. But out of her list of murder suspects, there’s only one who matters: Elder, the future leader of the ship and the love she could never have seen coming.

my thoughts 2

I have been dying to start this trilogy for almost a year now. I can’t believe it took me this long. I know I always say that, but I’m far behind in books, I’m still trying to catch up!

Amy had a perfect life. She loved to go running and had the perfect boyfriend and a great life. Until one day, her parents tell her that they are freezing themselves for the future to help. Now over 200 years since she’s been frozen, she is unexpectedly unfrozen by someone. She wasn’t supposed to be unfrozen for another 50+ years. Now stuck on Godspeed with no parents (because they are still frozen and can’t be because they are too valuable). Living on this ship isn’t all that life’s cracked up to be. It’s the Season in which everyone is mating. Amy doesn’t look like anyone. Everyone looks the same way and functions the same way.

I only had one problem with this was the world building. I had a hard time understanding what was exactly going on. As well trying to imagine how this futuristic world was set up and how the ship looked.

But other than that, I had no other problems with the book. This is told in Amy and Elder’s point of view changing after each chapter. I really liked having both perspectives getting to see Amy trying to cope with the fact that she was unfrozen early and someone who was born on the ship, Elder.

I also liked that the romance wasn’t the main focus of the book. Sometimes it’s nice to get away from the romance for a little bit. There is some, but it isn’t the focus of the book.

I’m so excited to continue on with this trilogy. The ending killed me, I can’t take much longer with that cliff hanger!

favorite quotes

“It is like a piece of my soul had been lost, empty, and it is now filled with the light of a million stars.”– page 139

.

“This is the secret of the stars, I tell myself. In the end, we are alone. No matter how close you seem, no one else can touch you.”– page 390

.

“I never thought about how important the sky was until I didn’t have one.”– Beth Revis, Across the Universe

.

Challenges This Belongs To:

summer of 50 challenge

10 thoughts on “Review: Across the Universe by Beth Revis

  1. Lovely review, this series sounds amazing and I’m a little obsessed with sci-fi now so after the fifth wave this will have to be next!

Leave a Reply

