Review: City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare

city of heavenly fireCity of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare
Series: The Mortal Instruments #6
First Published by: Margaret K. McElderry on May 27th 2014
Genre: Fantasy, Paranormal, Young Adult
Pages: 725 (Hardcover)
Source: Purchased- Hardcover

amazongoodreads

My Rating: 5 stars2 all time favorite

In this dazzling and long-awaited conclusion to the acclaimed Mortal Instruments series, Clary and her friends fight the greatest evil they have ever faced: Clary’s own brother.

Sebastian Morgenstern is on the move, systematically turning Shadowhunter against Shadowhunter. Bearing the Infernal Cup, he transforms Shadowhunters into creatures out of nightmare, tearing apart families and lovers as the ranks of his Endarkened army swell.

The embattled Shadowhunters withdraw to Idris – but not even the famed demon towers of Alicante can keep Sebastian at bay. And with the Nephilim trapped in Idris, who will guard the world against demons?

When one of the greatest betrayals the Nephilim have ever known is revealed, Clary, Jace, Isabelle, Simon, and Alec must flee – even if their journey takes them deep into the demon realms, where no Shadowhunter has set foot before, and from which no human being has ever returned…

Love will be sacrificed and lives lost in the terrible battle for the fate of the word in the thrilling final installment of the classic urban fantasy series The Mortal Instruments!

MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS FOR OTHER BOOKS IN THE SERIES. YOU’VE BEEN WARNED! :)

my thoughts 2

This is probably one of the hardest reviews I’ve written.

Just know this was a fantastic conclusion to one my favorite series! I have been soo nervous for the past few months about this book! I expected so many deaths and absolute sadness, but I was wrong. Everything about this was amazing! It took me over a week and a half or so to read it. 725 pages is a lot to read! This is the biggest book-besides Breaking Dawn I’ve read! I felt so good when I finished because I just wanted to finish it before the spoilers started rolling out. Thankfully I never found a spoiler. I know some people got spoiled the day it was released.

I honestly don’t know what exactly to put in this review without spoiling anything from the series. But just know, it was fantastic! I loved all the action, romance, and suspense! I had so much to expect from this book and I was soo nervous going into just from seeing tweets from Cassandra Clare. I didn’t know what to expect or who was going to die, what. I was scared to turn the pages because I didn’t know what was going to happen next, but I was so excited to see this end.

The epilogue was perfect! Long, but sooo good! I got really teary eyed at the end. Happy tears, not sad tears. It was just so perfect and I am so happy that it ended so well!! I’m really going to miss all these characters who I really connected with and fell in love with!

favorite quotes

“Temper us in fire, and we grow stronger. When we suffer, we survive.”– page 5

.

“Heroes aren’t always the ones who win,” she said. “They’re the ones who lose, sometimes. But they keep fighting, they keep coming back. They don’t give up. That’s what makes them heroes.”– page 95

.

“Okayyyyy,” Isabelle said in a low voice, “When did Brother Zachariah get hot?”– Cassandra Clare, City of Heavenly Fire

.

Challenges This Belongs To:

summer of 50 challenge vampire_challenge SeriouslySeries2014-02 Series-Challenge-Button-take2

2 thoughts on “Review: City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare

Leave a Reply

