Review: If I Stay by Gayle Forman

if i stay

If I Stay by Gayle Forman
Series: If I Stay #1
First Published by: Dutton Juvenile on April 2nd 2009
Genre: Romance, Contemporary, Realistic Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 262 (Paperback)
Source: Purchased- Paperback

amazongoodreads

My Rating: 4 stars2

The critically acclaimed, bestselling novel from Gayle Forman, author of Where She WentJust One Day, and the forthcoming Just One Year

On a day that started like any other,

Mia had everything: a loving family, a gorgeous, admiring boyfriend, and a bright future full of music and full of choices. In an instant, almost all of that is taken from her. Caught between life and death, between a happy past and an unknowable future, Mia spends one critical day contemplating the only decision she has left. It is the most important decision she’ll ever make.

Simultaneously tragic and hopeful, this is a romantic, riveting, and ultimately uplifting story about memory, music, living, dying, loving.

my thoughts 2

 

I overall enjoyed the book, but the pacing was a little slow for me which is why I gave this a 4 stars and not a 4.5 or 5. I LOVED the ending, had it gone the other way, I would have had a lower rating.

Mia and her family are going about another regular day. It’s just snowy and ice is covered everywhere. They didn’t think that they would get into a fatal crash with a trucker. They didn’t think it would be dangerous to get on the roads. It would have been fine. But it’s not. Mia seems to be the only one left alive from this fatal crash. Undergoing all kinds of surgeries and constantly being monitored, Mia is fighting for her life. She’s a ghost roaming around the halls of the hospital but no one knows she’s there. She has flashbacks from her life and has to make a decision: should she stay and fight or give up and be with her family? What kind of life would she have if she woke up?

I loved this book, wasn’t my favorite. As I’ve said, the pacing for the majority of the book is slow and basically showing snippets of Mia’s life. From her boyfriend, to her little brother, to being a music family and wanting to play the cello for Julliard.

Did I cry? Well, no. But it was very heart breaking and had I been more into the story, I probably would have cried. I watched the movie trailer before starting this book, which was probably a bad idea. Had I gone into the book blind, I may have cried. Knowing that her family got into the wreck, definitely affected why I didn’t cry. I already knew. Yes, I got teary eyed, but I wasn’t full on crying.

I loved how easy Gayle Forman made it to connect to the characters! I could vividly imagine all of this happening and what was going on. I absolutely loved and I cannot wait to continue on and see what happens next!

favorite quotes

“I’ve switched him to decaf,” Mom volleys back. “He’s just naturally exuberant.”

“As long as you’re not switching me to decaf,” I say.

“That would be child abuse,” Dad says. — page 5

.

I think you look scary, but pretty,” Teddy said. I’d say sexy, too, but I’m your brother, so that’s gross.” page 97

.

“Sometimes you make choices in life and sometimes choices make you.” ― Gayle Forman, If I Stay

.

“I realize now that dying is easy. Living is hard.” ― Gayle Forman, If I Stay

.

Challenges This Belongs To:

summer of 50 challenge

6 thoughts on “Review: If I Stay by Gayle Forman

  1. AGH this book is so conflicting, I want to read its epicness but I don’t want to be hurt!! Yeah, I’ll probably end up reading it anyway and having my heart broken… great review :)

Leave a Reply

