Review: Open Road Summer by Emery Lord

 

open road summerOpen Road Summer by Emery Lord
Series: N/A
First Published by: Walker on April 15th 2014
Genre: Contemporary, Romance, Road Trip, Young Adult
Pages: 342 (Hardcover)
Source: Purchased- Hardcover

 

amazongoodreads

 

My Rating: 5 stars2 all time favorite

After breaking up with her bad-news boyfriend, Reagan O’Neill is ready to leave her rebellious ways behind. . . and her best friend, country superstar Lilah Montgomery, is nursing a broken heart of her own. Fortunately, Lilah’s 24-city tour is about to kick off, offering a perfect opportunity for a girls-only summer of break-up ballads and healing hearts. But when Matt Finch joins the tour as its opening act, his boy-next-door charm proves difficult for Reagan to resist, despite her vow to live a drama-free existence. This summer, Reagan and Lilah will navigate the ups and downs of fame and friendship as they come to see that giving your heart to the right person is always a risk worth taking. A fresh new voice in contemporary romance, Emery Lord’s gorgeous writing hits all the right notes.

my thoughts 2

I FOUND ANOTHER SWOONWORTHY COUTNRY BOY!!!!

Sorry. But I really did. Matt Finch is Swoon worthy material. I adored him from the beginning!

Recently broken hearted, Reagan is looking for an escape from her life. Luckily her famous, country singer best friend, Lilah Montgomery is going on tour for the summer. Perfect opportunity. Getting the entire summer to spend time with each other on a bus traveling all around, staying up all night, going to concerts, sleeping during the day, writing music. It’s perfect! But when Lilah and her boyfriend break up as well, is it really going to be all that great with 2 broken hearted teenage girls? Matt Finch joins the tour and maybe it won’t be all sad and lonely. He’s single and extremely attractive. But there’s a catch, he’s supposed to be lilah’s “boyfriend” for the tour.

I have been dying to get my hands on this beautiful book for months! I’m so glad I got to pick this up and read it. I flew through it and I absolutely loved every page of it. The romance was heartbreaking and adorable. The characters were fantastic. The adventure was fun filled. The drama was…. Well.. Drama.

Lilah or shall I say, Dee, reminded me a lot of Hannah Montana! Sorry, I grew up with her. ;) I was kind of obsessed to say the least. So it was awesome to get to see a country super star who reminded me a lot of her. It doesn’t help that Dee grew up in a music family. So did Hannah Montana. Okay I’ll stop now.

I loved that Emery Lord added the lyrics from some of Adele and Matt’s songs. I loved all the sarcastic dialogue that came out of Reagan’s mouth. As well as the playful bickering from Matt and Reagan. I loved the friendship between Reagan and Dee. What else can I say I love? Umm. MATT FINCH.

This was the perfect summer read and I would definitely re-read again. I would definitely recommend the fans of contemporary and those who love Tucker from the Unearthly trilogy. You will find another country boy who you’ll love!

favorite quotes

“You are the only person who can build emotional barriers, but you’re also the only person who can topple them. Other people can’t knock down the walls you’ve built, no matter how much they love you. You have to tear them down yourself because there’s something worth seeing on the other side.” — page 323

.

“It’s the unwritten law of small-town folks: we guard one another. That Southern brand of trust is stronger than whiskey, and, when broken, it burns even more.” — page 36

.

Challenges This Belongs To:

summer of 50 challenge

 

Leave a Reply

