Review: Fever by Melissa Pearl

fever

Fever by Melissa Pearl
Series: Songbird #1
First Published by: Self-Published on June 15th 2014
Genre: Romance, College, Contemporary, New Adult
Pages: 237 (E-Book)
Source: copy from publisher

amazongoodreads

My Rating: 4.5 stars

I received a copy in exchange for an honest review from the publisher. It does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

 

my thoughts 2

Dating the same boy for 3 years and transferring to a college where her boyfriend and best friend lives, this is her safe place. These are who she’s comfortable with. Ella loves to sing jazz music, she grew up listening to it with her parents. She was named after Ella Flitzgerald. She has no idea what she wants to do with her life, but she knows that she will do whatever it is with her boyfriend, David. He’s going into law school and already has his entire life.

One day Ella goes to take a shower and starts singing to herself. Little did she know that some swoon-worthy male would start singing along with her. On top of it, jazz music! But, wait, she has a boyfriend. She can’t be doing that.

David’s best friend, Cole is definitely something to look at. She can’t help but look at him. They both get each other and they both understand what they both want in life. But, there’s still David, that can’t do that to him!

I LOVED this book! Had I not had to sleep and get up early the next day, I would have read this all night until I finished! I finished it the day after and wanting more. I absolutely adored Ella and Cole’s relationship! Melissa Pearl can definitely provide swoon-worthy men and I’m most definitely adding Cole to this list!

I loved the jazz aspect that was added and the author adding flashbacks. I very easily connected with both characters, as this is told in dual perspective from Ella and Cole’s point of view. I also really loved Ella’s relationship with Morgan and Jody. I absolutely adored those girls’ friendship and how hilarious it was seeing how they interacted with each other. Definitely friends-well best friends- I would want as my own!

My only issue was the ending, it was very rushed in my opinion. I loved the ending, don’t get me wrong. I’m pretty sure I was jumping up and down, honestly. But, it was very rushed.

favorite quotes

 

“When are you going to stop collecting all these random phone numbers and actually start dating a girl, Cole Reynolds?” I date.” “No you don’t, you charm, you swoon, you sleep with and then you don’t commit.” — Melissa Pearl, Fever

.

“I loved that a couple were destined to be together made it. In spite of everything stacked against them. It was like they were addicted to each other, pulled together by a force outside of themselves. I wondered what a love like that felt like.” — Melissa Pearl, Fever

.

“Life wasn’t always roses and cupcakes. Sometimes it was arsenic and manure.” — Melissa Pearl, Fever

.

Challenges This Belongs To:

summer of 50 challenge

 

 

2 thoughts on “Review: Fever by Melissa Pearl

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Sequels I Can't Wait To Get - Brianna's Bookish ConfessionsBrianna's Bookish Confessions

  2. Pingback: Waiting on Wednesday (#43): Bulletproof by Melissa Pearl - Brianna's Bookish ConfessionsBrianna's Bookish Confessions

Leave a Reply

