Review: Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

anna and the french kiss

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins
Series: Anna and the French Kiss #1
Published by: Speak on August 4th 2011
Genre: Romance, Contemporary, Chick Lit, Young Adult
Pages: 372 (Paperback)
Source: Purchased in paperback

amazongoodreads

My Rating: 5 stars2 all time favorite

Can Anna find love in the City of Light?
Anna is happy in Atlanta. She has a loyal best friend and a crush on her coworker at the movie theater, who is just starting to return her affection. So she’s less than thrilled when her father decides to send her to a boarding school in Paris for her senior year. But despite not speaking a word of French, Anna meets some cool new people, including the handsome Étienne St. Clair, who quickly becomes her best friend. Unfortunately, he’s taken —and Anna might be, too. Will a year of romantic near misses end with the French kiss she’s waiting for?

my thoughts 2

Oh gosh, the feels. They were definitely there! I adored this book to pieces! I can’t believe it took me this long to read this beautiful book! I’m seriously kicking myself for not picking it up sooner! Also kicking myself harder for not having picked up Lola and the Boy Next Door either! (I’m reading it this month- August- as part of a read-a-thon)

Anna and St. Clair’s relationship was ADORABLE! I can’t get over those two! Seriously!!!

Anna is sent to a boarding school in Paris for her last year of high school. She doesn’t know any French, so life isn’t easy for her. She doesn’t know anyone. There she meets Étienne St. Clair who very quickly becomes her best friend. They understand each other, they make each other laugh, they get on each others nerves. There’s a catch though, St. Clair has a girlfriend… But she doesn’t attend this boarding school, she’s at a different school. Those two have been dating for years now, but now they rarely hang out. Anna has a crush on a guy back home in Atlanta, but she can’t seem to stop thinking about St. Clair.

I cannot pronounce St. Clair’s first name for the life of me. I’d rather just call him St. Clair… It’s a lot easier to say than Étienne. Seriously I can’t… But holy moly, those two. Seriously their relationship/friendship was so so sweet and I loved reading about them! I’m definitely going to miss them for sure.

I loved all of Anna and St. Clair’s friends at the school! My favorite was probably Rashmi, she cracked me up! I really loved Anna’s best friend from home, Bridgette in the beginning, but by the end I despised her. Those that have read this probably understand why I feel that way. I know it’s silly, but I don’t know, I just didn’t like her by the end of the book. Hopefully I’m not the only one!

I loved Stephanie Perkins’ writing style! Anna’s personality was just hilarious! Everything about this was perfection, loved it!

favorite quotes

“Wanna come beat her up for me?”

“I’m packing up my throwing stars right now.” — page 231

.

“I’m saying I’m in love with you! I’ve been in love with you this whole bleeding year!” — page 363

.

“You’ll be so easy,” Rashmi said. “Would you like-ah to order-ah the spa-ghe-tti? ‘Oh, do me, Marco!'”– page 369

.

“For the two of us, home isn’t a place. It is a person. And we are finally home.” — page 372

.

Challenges This Belongs To:

summer of 50 challenge

 

 

7 thoughts on “Review: Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

  1. Ah, this book. I loved it ^-^ It’s such a cute story, but it’s relatable, too, which was fantastic. I also can’t pronounce St. Clair’s first name, lol. I thought I was the only one! I didn’t like Bridgette by the end, either :/ Her actions were not best friend-worthy. Glad you enjoyed the book!

  2. Pingback: Review: Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins | Brianna's Bookish Confessions

  3. I have this on my bookshelf, and it’s so inviting but I keep refraining from reading it because I have such high expectations for it. Great review, though! With the help of your post, I think I’ve finally decided to read it!

Leave a Reply

