Review: The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

5th wave

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey
Series: The 5th Wave #1
Published by: Putnam Juvenile on May 7th 2013
Genre: Science Fiction, Dystopia, Aliens, Young Adult
Pages: 480 (Hardcover)
Source: Purchased in hardcover

amazongoodreads

My Rating: 4.5 stars

After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker.

Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother—or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.

my thoughts 2

This wasn’t what I expected from this book… But in a good way. I didn’t realize this would be in multiple point of views. It took me a few chapters/sections to realize it wasn’t just in our main character, Cassie’s point of view. So it threw me off at first, which is why this is a 4.5/5 stars and not a 5/5 stars. However, I really enjoyed having all these different perspectives and not just Cassie’s. We got to understand better what was going on in this world and how it was affecting people.

Cassie is all alone. She used to have a great life with her parents and little brother. That was until the aliens arrived. They arrived in “style” and brought waves with them. The first wave is blackout, second brought “surf’s up”, third brought disease, fourth brought silencers. About to start the 5th wave, Cassie is just trying to survive, she is to trust absolutely no one. Anyone can be an alien, you never know until they’ve killed you and it’s too late. She meets Evan and she doesn’t know what to do. She wants to trust him, but she knows deep down that she shouldn’t. He could be an alien. But she wants her brother back and she needs help getting him back. Hopefully he’s still alive though. They took him away and she promised she’d get him back. But she doesn’t know where this camp is that he has been taken to.

I really enjoyed this book! I absolutely LOVED his writing style! Holy cow, absolutely loved it! I can’t get over how much I loved his writing! Between Cassie’s sarcasm and the way each character described what was happening was just stunning.

I don’t know how I feel about Cassie and Evan’s relationship… It had a hint of insta-like/love and I’m not really a big fan of those.. But I do like them two together, so I don’t know how I feel. I’m conflicted. However, Evan is definitely a sweetheart and completely sexy! :) Dear lord, I’m adding him to my boyfriends list!

I can’t wait to see what happens next. There was so much action and so much stuff happened in this almost 500 page book, that I can’t wait to see what’s in store for The Infinite Sea!

favorite quotes

“I had it all wrong,” he says. “Before I found you, I thought the only way to hold on was to find something to live for. It isn’t. To hold on, you have to find something you’re willing to die for.” — page 281

.

“Some things you can never leave behind. They don’t belong to the past. They belong to you.” — page 285

.

“What doesn’t kill us sharpens us. Hardens us. Schools us. You’re beating plowshares into swords, Vosch. You are remaking us. We are the clay, and you are Michelangelo. And we will be your masterpiece.” — page 446

.

Challenges This Belongs To:

2014rewind summer of 50 challenge DCR Banner

 

7 thoughts on “Review: The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

  1. Yay I’m glad you enjoyed it! I loved this book! And I agree the switching PoVs were really confusing at first, I had to write them down so that I could keep track but it proved to be efficient to the story so I didn’t mind, and after a few switches when I knew that the povs were Cassie, Evan, Ben and her little brother, it became easier for me to distinguish who I was reading from (:

Leave a Reply

