Review: Legend by Marie Lu

Legend_Marie_Lu_Book_cover

Legend by Marie Lu
Series: Legend #1
Published by: Putnam Juvenile on November 29th 2011
Genre: Dystopia, Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 305 (Paperback)
Source: Purchased in paperback

amazongoodreads

My Rating: 3.5 stars

From different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths…

Until June’s brother is murdered, and Day becomes the prime suspect.

In a shocking turn of events, the two uncover what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths to which their country will go to keep its secrets.

my thoughts 2

 

I flew through this book in two days. This book is very fast paced and really fun to read. However, I did have trouble in the beginning and trying to understand the world and characters while the book was racing through.

June made a perfect score on her test and now she’s to serve the military. Part of being in the military is capturing the most wanted criminal, Day. She doesn’t know what he looks like or how to find him. One day she has been informed that her brother has been murdered and the suspect is Day.

This is so hard to write a synopsis for honestly so I’m sorry if it’s not all that great. I promise this is worth the read even though I gave it a 3.5/5 star rating. I did very much enjoy this book, don’t get me wrong. The beginning was just a little hard to understand. There is so much action and a few plot twists that you are constantly on the edge of your seat wanting more. Wanting to know what is going to happen next.

I definitely am excited to see what Prodigy has in store for me and I’m very certain that I’ll enjoy it more than this one. Typically the sequels get better. So I have faith.

I really enjoyed this dystopian world, but I feel as if I’ve already seen a few already like this. Very similar in the way that the country has spiraled downward. Maybe that’s what also affected my rating because I’ve seen worlds similar to this already. Maybe had I read this earlier I would have a higher rating. But nonetheless, very much enjoyed this and super excited to see what Prodigy has to offer!

favorite quotes

“Each day means a new twenty-four hours. Each day means everything’s possible again. You live in the moment, you die in the moment, you take it all one day at a time.” — page 304

.

Challenges This Belongs To:

summer of 50 challengeDCR Banner

 

3 thoughts on “Review: Legend by Marie Lu

Leave a Reply

