Review: My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

my life next doorMy Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick
Series: My Life Next Door #1
First Published by: Dial Books For Young Readers on June 14th 2012
Genre: Romance, Contemporary, Chick Lit, Young Adult
Pages: 394 (Paperback)
Source: Purchased in paperback

amazongoodreads

My Rating: 5 stars2 all time favorite

“One thing my mother never knew, and would disapprove of most of all, was that I watched the Garretts. All the time.”

The Garretts are everything the Reeds are not. Loud, messy, affectionate. And every day from her rooftop perch, Samantha Reed wishes she was one of them . . . until one summer evening, Jase Garrett climbs up next to her and changes everything.

As the two fall fiercely for each other, stumbling through the awkwardness and awesomeness of first love, Jase’s family embraces Samantha – even as she keeps him a secret from her own. Then something unthinkable happens, and the bottom drops out of Samantha’s world. She’s suddenly faced with an impossible decision. Which perfect family will save her? Or is it time she saved herself?

A transporting debut about family, friendship, first romance, and how to be true to one person you love without betraying another.

my thoughts 2

This book was absolutely fantastic! Everything to the characters, the betrayal, the love, and the drama was absolutely perfect! I read What I Thought Was True which is her newest book before this and wasn’t really feeling it. I’m really glad this one turned out to be fantastic, I loved everything about it!

Samantha has always lived sort of a luxurious life. Her mother has been really into politics and is very OCD about pretty much everything. Samantha and her sister really haven’t had that mother-daughter bonding growing up because their mom was always busy with work. The Garretts moved next door to them and Samantha’s mother strictly forbade either of her girls to talk to the family. They were poor, they had 8 kids, and there was always screaming and kids running around the house. Her mother didn’t approve of it. One day Samantha had enough of it and went and introduced herself to the Garrett family. There she met Jase who is the third oldest child. They immediately start hanging out with each other and start developing feelings for each other. Samantha is keeping their relationship a secret because she doesn’t want her mom to know. But something really bad happens and Samantha has to make a decision that could mean losing someone you love and betraying the other.

This book… So many feels!!! I ADORED the Garrett family! They did have a big family, but I can’t get over how amazing Mrs. Garrett was. She was the perfect mom! Even with a house full of kids from the ages of under 1 up to teenagers, there’s a lot of money to be spent. Obviously they didn’t have a lot of money, but the way this family acted and the way they treated each other… I just… It was amazing seeing a family so loving and so supporting of each other! George was definitely my favorite of the little Garretts. The things that he said were hilarious and I adored that kid! Two of my favorite quotes are from George and they are down below.

I ADORED Sam and Jase’s relationship. It was absolutely adorable! There is one scene- I won’t spoil- and they have to go do something grown up and it was just hilarious how they handled it. Maybe those that have read this book already, know what scene I’m referring to. :)

Huntley Fitzpatrick did an excellent job at developing each of these characters and making it so fantastic and easy to fall for a bunch of them!

If you guys have not picked this one up or have read What I Thought Was True, please please pick this up! I promise this is fifty times better and you will absolutely adore it! As well as have some.. Okay many heart strings pulled. ;)

favorite quotes

“Did you know that in space it’s very, very cold? And there’s no oxygen? And if an astronaut fell out of a shuttle without his suit he’d die right away?”

I’m a fast learner. “But that would never happen. Because astronauts are really, really careful.”

George gives me a smile, the same dazzling sweet smile as his big brother, although at this point, with green teeth. “I might marry you,” he allows. “Do you want a big family?” — page 32

.

“You have to kiss me,” I find myself saying.
“Yeah.” He leans closer. “I do.” ― Huntley Fitzpatrick, My Life Next Door

.

“Is Jase already gonna marry you?”

I start coughing again. “Uh, No. No, George. I’m only seventeen.” As if that’s the only reason we’re not engaged.

“I’m this many.” George holds up four, slightly grubby fingers. “But Jase is seventeen and a half. You could. Then you could live in here with him. And have a big family.”

Jase strides back into the room, of course, midway through this proposition. “George. Beat it. Discovery Channel is on.”

George backs out of the room but not before saying, “His bed’s really comfortable. And he never pees in it.” — page 36

.

Challenges This Belongs To:

summer of 50 challenge

3 thoughts on “Review: My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Books That Were Hard For Me To Read - Brianna's Bookish ConfessionsBrianna's Bookish Confessions

Leave a Reply

