Review: Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

beautiful creatures

Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl
Series: Caster Chronicles #1
Published by: Little, Brown and Company on December 1st 2009
Genre: Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 563 (Hardcover)
Source: Purchased in hardcover

amazongoodreads

My Rating: 4.5 stars

Is falling in love the beginning . . . or the end?

In Ethan Wate’s hometown there lies the darkest of secrets . . .

There is a girl. Slowly, she pulled the hood from her head . . . Green eyes, black hair. Lena Duchannes.

There is a curse. On the Sixteenth Moon, the Sixteenth Year, the Book will take what it’s been promised. And no one can stop it.

In the end, there is a grave.

Lena and Ethan become bound together by a deep, powerful love. But Lena is cursed and on her sixteenth birthday, her fate will be decided.Ethan never even saw it coming.

my thoughts 2

I have been skeptical and VERY nervous about reading this series because of all the mixed reviews surrounding this series. I own all 4 of the books in the series (don’t own Dangerous Creatures yet) and I’ve been scared that I wouldn’t like the series and that I would have wasted my money on buying them all. Thankfully, I read and absolutely loved it!

It is told from Ethan’s point of view. Ethan has lived in a small town his entire life. Everyone knows every little thing about everyone. No one new moves into town. It’s always been the same people in town. One day Lena Duchannes moves into town with her uncle and she isn’t very welcomed. Ethan has been having some dreams that involve Lena. They seem VERY real. Lena is about to turn 16 but this isn’t a sweet sixteen. She is said to be cursed. Immediately drawn to each other, they both try to fight for their feelings even though it could really end badly for both of them.

This book was so much fun to read! I at times had a very difficult time putting it down once the story really started to pick up! I will admit that the beginning is a little slow, but after so long it really starts to pick up and hits the ground running! I was taken aback that it was in Ethan’s point of view. I was expecting it to be in Lena’s point of view, so it was a little difficult for me to get used to Ethan’s point of view.

But oh man, the suspense and plot twists were spot on! It’s been a while since I’ve read it (I’ve fallen behind on reviews… again) so I can’t specifically remember if I caught on to some of the plot twists before they were revealed, but I can tell you towards the end, there were several that I didn’t expect!

The reason why this is a 4.5 and not a 5/5 star rating is because Ethan and Lena’s relationship had a insta-love sort of in the beginning. But going back and thinking about the story line, it didn’t exactly bother me too much and I understood why. With how the story line is, it makes sense how this could be an insta-love.

I definitely am excited to see what Beautiful Darkness has in store, I’ve heard it’s not all that great, but the 3rd is fantastic!

favorite quotes

“You’re so full of crap, you could pass for a toilet.” ― Kami Garcia, Beautiful Creatures

.

‘”And you can look up just about anything, even dirty pictures. Every now and again, the dirtiest pictures you ever saw would pop up on the screen. Imagine!” By “dirty,” Aunt Grace probably meant naked, which I would’ve thought would keep them off the Internet forever.’ — page 335

.

Challenges This Belongs To:

summer of 50 challenge

2 thoughts on “Review: Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

Leave a Reply

